Skip to main content

Professional Resources: Home

Welcome!

The District Professional library is located in the TAC building in downtown Omaha. The materials in the DPL are available to all staff members of the Omaha Public Schools.  The items listed on the attached pages represent professional journal titles, print book titles, and digital book titles available for any OPS staff member to check out.

To search for print or digital titles, please visit our library catalog.

To request print materials be checked out to you, please contact Carol Hiddleston at 531-299-9608 or Courtney Pentland 531-299-2909 by phone or email.  We can hold these items for you to pick up, or we can send them to you through inter-office mail.

To access digital materials, visit the online library catalog and locate your title.  To learn more about how to check out these digital titles, please visit  libguides.ops.org/dpl and check out the Overdrive and Follett tabs.

Acces to Professional Journals Through Ebsco

Welcome to the Professional Journal Access Page.  Through the links on this page, you will be able to access issues of professional journals electronically.

Some of the journals provide the most current issues through their links.  Other journals are embargoed for a specified amount of time (embargo simply means access to that journals is delayed for a time amount set by the publisher).  If not otherwise noted, the journal should provide the most recent issue.

If you are in an OPS building, you will have direct access to the journals through the link provided.  If you wish to access the journals while outside of an OPS building, ask your school librarian or the library services office for the login name and password for EBSCO.   

To learn more about how to search for articles using the Ebsco database, please visit the Secondary Databases Playlist on the OPS Libraries YouTube Channel.

 

Suggestions and Comments

This page is a work in progress.  If you have any suggestions or comments on how to make this page work better for you or if you locate any errors, please let me know.  Thank you!  Your feedback is appreciated.

courtney.pentland@ops.org

Courtney Pentland
Lead Teacher/Research Librarian
Library Services

Are you in Grad School?

Do you need to find professional articles for a graduate school assignment?  Here are a few tips to make your search more successful:

1)  You may want to try to access the professional journals your university subscribes to through their library as they may have a wider selection available than we do through the district.

2)  You may also search through district purchased database subscriptions to find what you need.  To learn how to use our Ebsco databases, you can watch this YouTube video:  http://youtu.be/J4smmTfIu4c ]http://youtu.be/J4smmTfIu4c

If you want to get to Ebsco while outside of an OPS building, you will need a login name and password.  Please contact your building school librarian or the Research Librarian (557-2533) to get a login names and password.

3)  Not finding what you need?

      A)  Adjust your search terms.  Try using different terminology or reorder your search terms.  Conducing a Google search to see what others are calling your topic may also help you find new search terms.  Not sure how to do this?  Check out these resources: Academic Research Online  OR  Database Search Tips

      B)  Look at the bibliographies included in other articles to see what they cited as sources, and then look for those in whichever database you choose to use.

      C)  Consider using an article that covers a similar topic, grade level, or subject area.

If during your search you run into any problems locating the materials you need and would like some suggestions on search terms or other resources to explore, please feel free to contact the Research Librarian or consider checking with your school librarian. Good luck with your project!

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).