Skip to main content
District Profesional Library Resources
The District Professional library is located in the TAC building in downtown Omaha. The materials in the DPL are available to all staff members of the Omaha Public Schools. The items listed below are a sampling of what is available in the DPL.
To search for print or digital titles, please visit our library catalog. Or, see below for print items available in the DPL.
To request print materials be checked out to you, please contact Carol Hiddleston at 402-557-2544 or Courtney Pentland 402-557-2533 by phone or email. We can hold these items for you to pick up, or we can send them to you through inter-office mail.
To access digital materials, visit the online library catalog and locate your title. To learn more about how to check out these digital titles, please visit the Overdrive and Follett tabs on this page. Overdrive login screen on your computer visit here.
If you have any suggestions for print or digital materials to add to the DPL, please email Courtney Pentland. Thank you!
Professional Journal Access
Below you will find links to professional journals through the EBSCO database. To access these journals from a computer outside of an OPS building, you will need login names and passwords. Please contact your school or district librarian (Courtney Pentland) for this information.
Across the Disciplines
Devoted to language, learning, and academic writing; articles are relevant to writing, and writing pedagogy.
For teenagers who appreciate terrific writing & quality literature. Its 128 pages of fiction & poetry provide reading that is thought-provoking, entertaining, & often humorous.
Dedicated to the range of professional practices associated with rhetoric & composition. Teaching college writing, preparing the field's future teacher-scholars.
Offers teenagers the opportunity to publish their opinions and creative work on the issues that affect their lives - everything from love and family to teen smoking and community service.
Writing on the Edge
Focuses on writing and the teaching of writing, is aimed primarily at college-level composition teachers and others interested in writing and writing instruction.
Communication: Journalism Education Today
Publishes articles on all aspects of scholastic media with lesson plans, current research, teaching tips, and other resources.
Journalism & Mass Communication Educator
Teaching techniques, new courses, and technology, statistical informationon students, schools, and careers in journalism
Intended to ignite conversations between emerging and established theatre artists and educators and build connections that strengthen the field.
Stage of the Art (Drama)
Drama & Theater Arts; Stage Production
Publication aimed at teens from grades 7-12 with a grade 3-5 reading level. Designed to encourage reluctant teen readers with current events and other relevant material. Also comes with comprehensive reading intervention program.
Contains articles for junior and senior high school students on items of general interest.
American Poetry Review
Contemporary poetry, fiction, social commentary, opinion, translations and reviews for a general audience.
Focuses on American literature, presenting essays on public affairs, literature, science, history and culture.
Black American Literature Forum
Publishes essays on African American literature, art and culture. Contains interviews, fiction and poems.
Children's Literature in Education
Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.
Early American Literature *12 month embargo
Articles and reviews on American literature through the early national period, about 1830, for members of the Modern Language Association.
Fantasy & Science Fiction
Presents short stories, interviews, novelettes, book and film reviews and criticism of works of science fiction and fantasy.
International contemporary writing, essays, poetry, drama, criticism and translations, and occasional special issues on a specific subject.
Poetry, commentary news notes and lists of recently published books published by the Modern Poetry Association.
Studies in English Literature (Rice 1975-1998)
Historical and critical essays contributing significantly to the understanding of English literature, 1500-1900.
Studies in Short Fiction
A scholarly journal of essays, short notes and reviews devoted exclusively to serious commentary on short fiction.
Twentieth Century Literature
Articles on all aspects of modern and contemporary literature, including articles in English on writers in other languages.
World Literature Today
Articles, essays and criticism on recent belles lettres in all the major and many of the minor languages of the world, short articles on contemporary writers and literary movements.
Publication Date: 2007-02-02
Guided Writing is your handbook for the newest, most effective way to move students into independent writing. Lori Oczkus provides everything you need to support children in the fledgling phase between carefully modeled group writing and their first solo pieces.
Write What You See
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Compiled by a successful photographer and former teacher of English, this collection of black-and-white photographs is accompanied by a wide variety of inventive writing prompts to motivate students.
Teaching Graphic Novels
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Harness the power of graphic novels to promote literacy and engage all secondary students. Address print-text and image literacies, from navigating text features to creating standards-based lessons on reading comprehension, fiction/nonfiction, written response, critical thinking, and media literacy.
Meeting the Challenge of Adolescent Literacy
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Based on a Leadership Model for Improving Adolescent Literacy, this work is filled with suggestions for using data, supporting teachers to improve instruction, building leadership capacity, allocating resources to improve student literacy, and questions and statements for discussion.
20 Literacy Strategies to Meet the Common Core
Publication Date: 2012-10-25
With the advent of the Common Core State Standards and their high expectations with regard to content literacy, secondary teachers are scrambling for ways to implement the standards effectively. 20 Literacy Strategies to Meet the Common Core provides a clearly written, easy-to-access plan for implementing content literacy to meet the needs of these educators.
The Best-Kept Teaching Secret
Publication Date: 2013-10-11
The Best-Kept Teaching Secret brims with jottings written by children and with an armful of ways you can use letter writing to revitalize your teaching.
Talk for Writing in Secondary Schools
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Talk for Writing' is a proven approach to teaching writing and this practical guide takes you step by step through how to establish quality written communication across the curriculum.
Talk for Writing Across the Curriculum
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Talk for Writing across the Curriculum takes a dynamic and creative look at how writing non-fiction can be taught across the curriculum.
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).