Skip to main content
District Profesional Library Resources
The District Professional library is located in the TAC building in downtown Omaha. The materials in the DPL are available to all staff members of the Omaha Public Schools. The items listed below are a sampling of what is available in the DPL.
To search for print or digital titles, please visit our library catalog. Or, see below for print items available in the DPL.
To request print materials be checked out to you, please contact Carol Hiddleston at 402-557-2544 or Courtney Pentland 402-557-2533 by phone or email. We can hold these items for you to pick up, or we can send them to you through inter-office mail.
To access digital materials, visit the online library catalog and locate your title. To learn more about how to check out these digital titles, please visit the Overdrive and Follett tabs on this page. Overdrive login screen on your computer visit here.
If you have any suggestions for print or digital materials to add to the DPL, please email Courtney Pentland. Thank you!
Professional Journal Access
Below you will find links to professional journals through the EBSCO database. To access these journals from a computer outside of an OPS building, you will need login names and passwords. Please contact your school or district librarian (Courtney Pentland) for this information.
American Educational History Journal
United States History; Education History
Focuses on American history, presenting essays on topics relating to events in US history.
American Historical Review *12 month embargo
Presents articles, review articles, substantial numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of American history.
Feature articles and special issues presenting the best available historic and contemporary illustrations and authoritative narratives on all aspects of American history.
Black History Bulletin
A peer-reviewed publication written to provide those who instruct our youth with innovative materials, which teach Black history and conform to national history standards.
Devoted to the teaching of history in the secondary & higher education classroom.
Presents essays and research articles dealing with a wide range of topics pertaining to ancient and modern world history.
Journal of American History *12 month embargo
Features a variety of pieces that deal with every aspect of American history, including state-of-the-field essays, broadly inclusive book reviews, and reviews of films, museum exhibitions, and Web sites.
Saturday Evening Post
Features fiction and nonfiction of interest to the American family. Articles cover current events worldwide, sports, travel, people and other subjects of general interest.
A monthly magazine created for modern, well-rounded individuals with diverse interests. It chronicles the arts, history, sciences and popular culture of the times.
World History Bulletin
Devoted to historical analysis from a global point of view; features a range of comparative and cross-cultural scholarship and encourages research on forces that work their influences across cultures and civilizations.
Kiplinger's Personal Finance
Relates to saving, investing, taxes, insurance, major purchases including homes, education, health, travel & more.
Articles and news about international trade. Includes information about technology, transportation, marketing and finance.
New York Times Upfront
A public affairs magazine for students interested in government, history, economics, sociology and world affairs. Focus on contemporary issues such as immigration, arms control, crime, environment and other issues. Incorporates Scholastic Update.
News and commentary on developments in the nation and the world. Covers national and international affairs, science, sports, religion, business, medicine & the arts.
Publication aimed at teens from grades 7-12 with a grade 3-5 reading level. Designed to encourage reluctant teen readers with current events and other relevant material. Also comes with comprehensive reading intervention program.
Contains articles for junior and senior high school students on items of general interest.
National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.
Argues the big ideas behind US Foreign Policy and International Affairs; a journal of ideas and debate.
Career Development Quarterly
Articles on career assessment & measurement, career counseling practices, career indecision, information, salience, self-efficacy, theory, transitions, gender issues, case histories & work & family.
Journal of Career Education
Devoted to career advancement, development & education.
Occupational Outlook Quarterly
Articles deal with all aspects of employment and the interests of specific occupations. Published by the US Dept. of Labor.
Differentiation Strategies for Social Studies
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
Presented in an easy-to-implement format, this handy notebook is designed to facilitate the understanding and process of writing differentiated lessons to accommodate all readiness levels, learning styles, and interests.
Secrets to Success for Social Studies Teachers
Publication Date: 2007-08-23
Provides novice, preservice, and experienced teachers with guidelines for best practices, social studies standards, and the most practical elements of pedagogy, plus invaluable advice from veteran educators.
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
This book provides a number of different types of menus that elementary-aged students can use to select exciting products that they will develop so teachers can assess what has been learned-instead of using a traditional worksheet format
Social Studies and Diversity Education
Publication Date: 2009-10-27
Thoughtful introductory section essays that conceptualize each theme, providing a conscientious theoretical overview and analysis of each individual section. Rich and concrete examples of best practice from some of the field's most diverse and highly regarded scholars and teacher educators.
99 Jumpstarts for Kids' Social Studies Reports
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Building on the success and maintaining the 99 Jumpstarts format of the two previous books, 99 Jumpstarts for Kids' Social Studies Reports is divided into broad topical sections.
Social Studies Worksheets Don't Grow Dendrites
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Best-selling author Marcia L. Tate brings her trademark "dendrite-growing" teaching strategies to this practitioner-friendly collection of brain-compatible methods for engaging K-12 students in social studies.
Social Studies Comes Alive
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Social Studies Comes Alive provides teachers with critical, creative, and inquiry-based activities to engage students in action research. Students will benefit from learning professional research practices and products that can make a real difference in their lives and those within their communities.
Writing Strategies for Social Studies
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Help students write about social studies content! This 2nd edition resource was created to provide an in-depth research base about literacy instruction, and includes key strategies to help students write and comprehend social studies content. Designed in an easy-to-use format, this resource offers details approaches and activities with classroom examples by grade ranges and includes graphic organizer templates and digital resources to help teachers implement quickly and easily.
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).