Skip to main content
District Profesional Library Resources
The District Professional library is located in the TAC building in downtown Omaha. The materials in the DPL are available to all staff members of the Omaha Public Schools. The items listed below are a sampling of what is available in the DPL.
To search for print or digital titles, please visit our library catalog. Or, see below for print items available in the DPL.
To request print materials be checked out to you, please contact Carol Hiddleston at 402-557-2544 or Courtney Pentland 402-557-2533 by phone or email. We can hold these items for you to pick up, or we can send them to you through inter-office mail.
To access digital materials, visit the online library catalog and locate your title. To learn more about how to check out these digital titles, please visit the Overdrive and Follett tabs on this page. Overdrive login screen on your computer visit here.
If you have any suggestions for print or digital materials to add to the DPL, please email Courtney Pentland. Thank you!
General Education Online Journals
American Journal of Education * 12 month embargo
Original articles and book reviews about the theory, methodology, and philosophy of education.
Catalyst for Change
Focuses on research articles and book reviews that pertain to issues impacting the quality of K-12 schools.
Creativity Research Journal *18 month delay
Publishes scholarly research capturing the full range of approaches to the study of creativity.
Curriculum & Teaching Dialogue
Presents useful information & advice on different teaching methods & curriculum selection.
Curriculum Inquiry *12 month embargo
Articles, review articles and commentary on curriculum issues for teachers and faculty.
Curriculum Journal *18 month embargo
Provides a forum for debate, publishing research into curriculum, cross-curricular issues, assessment requirements & new approaches to teaching & learning.
Original investigations and theoretical papers dealing with worthwhile innovations in learning, teaching and education at all levels and in every area of education and learning.
Covers the entire education field from pre-elementary to college levels for school libraries and administrators, superintendents, supervisors and principals.
The latest in teacher education, professional development, classroom management, leadership skills, health, sport, awards, development, I.C.T., learning environments, time management, opinions, marketing for schools & travel.
A weekly newspaper devoted to education. Articles, profiles, commentary, legislation, state and national news and book reviews for teachers and administrators in elementary and secondary schools.
Educational Assessment--18 month embargo*
Publishes research and scholarship on the assessment of individuals, groups and programs in educational settings. Reports on studies of conventional testing practices, alternative approaches, scholarship on classroom practice, and national assessment...
Educational Research Quarterly
The Educational Research Quarterly is an international, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to the advancement of the practice of education through research and scholarship.
Scholarly articles selected through blind review; commentary and studies in the foundations of education, and in related disciplines outside the field of education which contribute to the advancement of educational theory.
Electronic Magazine of Multicultural Education
Committed to providing a forum in which scholarly and practical ideas can be exchanged to strengthen the theories and practices of multicultural education.
Insight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching
Features theoretical and empirically-based research articles, critical reflection pieces, case studies and classroom innovations relevant to teaching, learning and assessment.
A scholastic magazine of instructor's professional outlook, reporting and ideas.
Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-based Learning
Includes information related to all aspects of implementing problem-based learning (PBL) in K-12 and post-secondary classrooms.
Issues in Teacher Education
Features articles, commentary, and reviews on the teacher education field.
Journal of Curriculum & Instruction
Provides a forum for the dissemination of articles focused on research, practice, and related issues relevant to teaching and learning in the preK-12 environment.
Journal of Developmental Education
Articles, research and news of note on all aspects of developmental education for professionals in the field.
Journal of Education
Articles aimed at students and educators on issues in contemporary education.
Journal of Educational Research - 18 month embargo*
Original manuscripts that describe or synthesize research of direct relevance to educational practice in elementary and secondary schools; experiments, evaluations, ethnolography, replications and essays dealing with issues raised in `JER.'
Journal of Negro Education
Significant research conducted on the progress of black education; professional education as well as social sciences, physical and natural sciences, the arts and technology concerned with the successes, virtues and problems of black education.
Provides articles, interviews, promising practices & resources in multicultural education.
Negro Educational Review
Scholarly articles & research; analyses & descriptions of societal problems; significant compilations & creative works related to black people.
New Teacher Advocate
Offers novice and apprentice teachers connections and support through practice-oriented articles and expert-advice columns.
Perspectives on Urban Education
Provides and interactive forum to investigate critical issues in urban education.
Devoted to the discussion of developments, issues, and trends in teacher education and in the professional development of teachers.
Teaching & Learning
Devoted to the values of thoughtful observation as an educational method, of description as a technique for understanding, & of lived experience as a source of knowledge construction.
Presents both critical empirical studies and theoretical positions concerning schooling and education in the contemporary urban setting; original investigations, reviews and essays examining issues basic to improving the quality of urban education.
Internet Radio for Educators
Education Talk Radio is a professional development online broadcast for educators, preK–20. The show has aired over 3,000 programs with an average of more than 1,700 listeners each day. The website presents a weekly schedule for this daily Internet radio for education. The segments include news of products, webinars, events, and services in education. Every show is archived on the site immediately after broadcast. The archive goes back to July 2016; shows from the current month are at the top of the list. Educators can also follow Education Talk Radio on Twitter @edutalkradio.
Did you know you can register for a free account on the Marzano Research website? You can gain access to free resources like webinars, proficiency scale banks, reproducibles, videos and much more!
Access free materials and create an account here.
Print Books Available in the DPL
Other Online Journals
World's largest black publication. Features articles on education, history, politics, art, business, personalities, literature, civil rights, sports, entertainment, music and social events.
Focuses on personalities in television, motion pictures, politics, business, the arts, literature and the sciences.
A monthly magazine created for modern, well-rounded individuals with diverse interests. It chronicles the arts, history, sciences and popular culture of the times.
National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.
A magazine aimed at the working mother that includes articles on recent news of note, food and nutrition, features on children of different ages, work and money and taking care of yourself.
Now I Get It!
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Literacy, differentiated instruction, student engagement and academic achievement continue to be hot topics for educators, parents, legislators, and government officials. Now I Get It Differentiate, Engage, and Read for Deeper Meaning is a practical, easy to use resource for classroom teachers, literacy coaches, school administrators and post secondary instructors.
The Active Classroom
Publication Date: 2013
Create an interactive environment that turns passive students into enthusiastic participants and nurtures interdependent learning.
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Drawing upon her extensive experience and numerous national presentations, author Marcie Nordlund shares her ideas, creativity, and proven methods of differentiated instruction to help teachers reach each student. Divided into 10 chapters, this book deals with topics ranging from general methods of differentiating instruction to specific methods for students with attention deficit/hyperactivity, learning disabilities, above average intelligence, cognitive impairments, autism, behavioral challenges, and those who are at-risk.
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This powerful book is based on Eric Jensen's belief that you can have a thriving classroom, one where students look forward to homework rather than complain about it, where teachers learn with students, and where each individual is heard, appreciated, and respected. This book embodies a vision of a school where teachers affect decisions about the curriculum, their classroom, their students, and school policies.
Publication Date: 2004
This newly updated edition features a tried-and-true plan for effective instruction; encompasses independent learning; integrates instruction, learning, and assessment into an effective model for teaching; and more!
High Impact Instruction is a response to the pressing need among school leaders for research-validated, high-leverage instructional practices that have a significant, positive impact on the way teachers teach and students learn. Author Jim Knight provides a simple but powerful framework and set of tools for improving classroom management, content planning, instruction, and assessment. In addition, the book addresses the most effective forms of professional learning that can be used to ensure that teachers learn the Big Four teaching practices: Instructional Coaching, Partnership Learning, and Intensive Learning Teams.
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).