Skip to main content
District Profesional Library Resources
The District Professional library is located in the TAC building in downtown Omaha. The materials in the DPL are available to all staff members of the Omaha Public Schools. The items listed below are a sampling of what is available in the DPL.
To search for print or digital titles, please visit our library catalog. Or, see below for print items available in the DPL.
To request print materials be checked out to you, please contact Carol Hiddleston at 402-557-2544 or Courtney Pentland 402-557-2533 by phone or email. We can hold these items for you to pick up, or we can send them to you through inter-office mail.
To access digital materials, visit the online library catalog and locate your title. To learn more about how to check out these digital titles, please visit the Overdrive and Follett tabs on this page. Overdrive login screen on your computer visit here.
If you have any suggestions for print or digital materials to add to the DPL, please email Courtney Pentland. Thank you!
Books in Print
Classroom Management for Art, Music, and PE Teachers
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Teaching 400-600 students every week presents the ultimate classroom management challenge, one that if you're unprepared for can bury you in a mountain of stress and misbehavior. Classroom Management for Art, Music, and PE.
Published by the College Art Association (CAA).
Articles, special reports and thematic issues on all aspects of art education published by the National Art Education Association.
Art in America
Features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.
Journal arranged thematically under a guest editor including articles by and about artists, exhibition reviews, book reviews and lists of books and catalogues received.
Arts & Activites
Articles for classroom art teachers on subjects dealing with art education theory and practice at the elementary and secondary levels, as well as teacher education and uses of community resources.
Arts Education Policy Review *18 month embargo
Aimed at educators and deals with the role of the arts in education and curriculum development.
Print portfolios, profiles, regional design, thematic issues, computer advances, historical perspective and provocative articles in all areas of the field of graphic design for designers, illustrators and photographers worldwide.
Studies in Art Education
Empirical, historical and philosophical research with implications for art education or that explore theoretical and practical aspects of art criticism, artistic growth, curriculum and learning, program evaluation, and other dimensions of visual arts.
Art Is Fundamental
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
This comprehensive art curriculum can easily be integrated into any teacher's existing instruction and provides thrilling and rewarding projects for elementary art students, including printmaking techniques, tessellations, watercolors, calligraphic lines, organic form sculptures, and value collages.
The Art Teacher's Survival Guide for Elementary and Middle Schools
Publication Date: 2008-11-24
Easy ways to infuse art into classroom learning. With more than 110 creative art projects in varied types of media--from drawing to digital--plus tips, tools, and curricular resources, The Art Teacher's Survival Guide for Elementary and Middle Schools offers everything a teacher needs to know to present an effective arts education program.
American Music Teacher
Provides articles, reviews and regular columns that inform, educate and challenge music teachers and foster excellence in the music teaching profession.
American String Teacher
Informs about developments and news within the string profession, provides regular columns including Master Classes, Member2Member, Teaching Tips, as well as other important educational information.
Contributions to Music Education
Contains articles reporting the results of research studies in music education that are of a philosophical, historical, or scientific nature that contribute to an understanding of music teaching and learning.
General Music Today
Contains articles on emerging trends, effective teaching ideas, & new material for teaching general music at all levels.
JAZZed: The Jazz Educator's Magazine
Developed by the publishers of School Band & Orchestra and Choral Director magazines, JAZZed is the only independent jazz educator¿s magazine.
Journal of Music Teacher Education
Music Education & Instruction; Teaching & Instruction
Journal of Research in Music Education
Publishes reports of research studies in the field of music and music education.
Music Educators Journal
Original articles about all phases of music education in schools and communities, professional philosophy and practical techniques and current teaching and learning aimed at all persons engaged in music teaching or other music educational work.
Research & Issues in Music Education
Contains articles promoting research, dialogue, practice, & policy in music education; includes quantitative, qualitative, philosophical, historical, speculative, & bibliographic articles that contribute to an understanding of music education.
School Band & Orchestra
Published monthly to the nation's elementary, middle and high school band and orchestra directors. SBO is a management magazine for music educators.
Articles and news in the field of music education. Articles on classroom teaching techniques, administration, and music performances.
The Journal of Singing
Devoted to the art of singing, vocal function, vocal literature, care of the professional voice, voice science, & the teaching of singing.
100 Ideas for Secondary Teachers (Gifted & Talented)
Publication Date: 2014
This brand new title in the bestselling 100 Ideas series includes enrichment activities and teaching and management strategies for supporting the most able students in your school. Whether you are simply looking for activities to use in your classroom or you are in charge of whole school provision, there are ideas in this book for you. They range from how to identify gifted and talented students, support their individual needs and how to interest and engage them, to training other teachers and reviewing your school's provision.
Teaching Gifted Kids in Today's Classroom
Publication Date: 2012-08-15
Fully revised and updated for a new generation of educators, this is the definitive guide to meeting the learning needs of gifted students in the mixed-abilities classroom - seamlessly and effectively with minimal preparation time.
Reviewed articles on all aspects of physical education for professional educators.
Meeting Physical Education Standards Through Meaningful Assessment
Publication Date: 2012-11-16
As the use of standards-based assessment spreads in response to the increased emphasis on accountability, physical educators are faced with the task of demonstrating how their curricula and learning outcomes align with national, state, and district standards. Implementing assessments that align with each of these standards can be a real challenge. Meeting Physical Education Standards Through Meaningful Assessment: Research-Based Strategies for Secondary Teachers will help you simplify this task. With practical, easy-to-implement strategies, this resource guides both experienced and novice secondary physical education teachers in assessing students to ensure they learn what is essential for leading vigorous, healthy, and active lives as adults.
Early Elementary Children Moving and Learning
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
A complete movement curriculum for early elementary children Physical education is a critical part of early learning. Movement experiences exercise the whole body--including the mind--and can help children develop a lifetime desire for health and fitness and success in all areas of academic learning.
Current Health Kids
Children's Interest; Elementary Education; Health Education
Current Health Teens
Health Education; Youth & Adolescence; Teaching & Instruction
Education & Health
Contains articles on health education initiatives, relevant research findings, materials & strategies for schools & health-related behavior data about young people.
Contains manuscripts on a wide variety of topics related to furthering excellence in teaching, research, and service in the health education discipline.
Journal of Industrial Teacher Education
Refereed articles, guest articles, essays, commentary, special feature issues and reviews of books and computer hardware and software broadly related to industrial and technical teacher education, military training and industrial training.
Career and Technical Education
Family & Consumer Science
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).