Skip to main content

Check It Out: August 6, 2015

Your weekly news from the OPS Library Services Staff

New Faces, New Places

This year we welcome the following OPS teachers who are new to the school library:

Jenifer Neilsen: Jennifer has taught in OPS for fifteen years, most recently at Bancroft elementary school and  will be taking over the King Elementary Library. She loves scrapbooking, reading and singing  in her spare time and her friends consider her a good listener. If money was not object, she would be a world traveler and scuba diver. Jenifer, welcome to the world of school librarianship!

 New to OPS this year are:

Emily Beasley: Franklin Elementary will be home for Emily Beasley who knew she had found her vocation completing an after school service project in the company of Dr. Becky Pasco. She enjoys reading, traveling and gardening, and she says she is adventurous and a little bit crazy -- both traits that would serve an elementary librarian well! Welcome, aboard, Emily.

Chelsea Hoschar: Will be joining the Spring Lake staff. She loves to read and "binge watch" Nextflix, design and make jewelry, shop, AND she still has time to play volleyball! Whew!! She dreams of flipping houses, opening a jewelry business and writing a book.Her friends describe her as creative, crafty, generous and fun. We know Chelsea will be a great asset to our librarian network.

Rachel Prieksat: Harrison Elementary is excited to have Rachel on board. If she could have super powers (and we are not sure that she doesn't already posses them) she would want to be able to fly so that she could take off from anywhere and land in places that are totally new to her.

David Hellman: David has worked in secondary social studies at both Bryan Middle School and most currently at South High School. He will be the elementary librarian at Joslyn. His mother, Jean Hellewege, is also a school librarian in Lincoln, Nebraska. You can't miss him at curriculum day -- big blond who looks like a former football player. Welcome, Dave!

Shifting Spaces are:

Emilee Paul, formerly at Spring Lake, will move to Chandler View.

Regina Petersen, formerly at Franklin, will move to Castelar.

Angela Ralph, formerly at Harrison Elementary, will move to Benson High School.

Let's welcome all and wish everyone a successful year in their new positions!

Curriculum Day/Secondary Agendas

Database and Golden Sower Purchases

If you are planning to purchase additional databases or Golden Sower items, all information will be handled via Excel Survey and is due Friday, August 21.  If your school purchases these items using funds other than your library funds (and I highly recommend that the do!) please visit with your administrator and get the funding strings for purchase before you start the survey.

Database prices do not reflect any group discounts as the amount of discount received is based on the number of schools participating. When you click on the survey link, you will be asked whether you want to order any of the following:

Product Choices
Brainpop

Combo School $2295

School $1695

Junior $1350

Espanol $1350

Francais $1350

ESL $545

Bookflix $1299
Trueflix $1350
ScienceFlix $1199
FreedomFlix $975
Golden Sower Manuals $15 each
Golden Sower Nominee Stickers $3.20 per pkg of 40 (2 1/4")
Golden Sower Spine Labels $3.20 per pkg of 40
Golden Sower Triangle Stickers $1.10 per pkg of 10
Golden SowerTriangle Rubber Stamp $2.00 each
Golden Sower Pewter Pin $2.20 each
Golden Sower PostIt Notes (Reynolds design) .60 each
Even Monsters Need Haircuts Bookmarks $1.20 per pkg of 45
Titanic bookmarks $1.20 per pkg of 45
Secret Science bookmarks $1.20 per pkg of 45
If I Built a Car bookmarks $1.20 per pkg of 45

 each building should take the survey one time only. Once you have all of your information in order, click on this link to take the survey: Database/GS Survey

Any orders received after August 21, risk losing any group discounts and may not be processed until mid-September.

Welcome

New Resources from the Nebraska Library Commisson

The Nebraska Library Commission is pleased to announce that twelve new EBSCO databases will be available through NebraskAccess, http://nebraskaccess.nebraska.gov, to all K-12 schools starting July 1, 2015.

Students and staff will have access to a current encyclopedia, thousands of full text popular magazines and peer-reviewed journals, plus many other reference resources. Based on many requests this includes elementary-level materials. In addition to the databases, an elementary-level search/browse interface, Explora, will be available.

Resources of particular interest to the K-12 audience include:

Explora Primary School—replaces Searchasaurus and Kids Search. Allows students to browse by topic or search a combination of databases.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia—although part of a database, will have its own link for direct access from NebraskAccess. Updated regularly, the current version is copyrighted 2014.

Primary Search—contains hundreds of full text popular magazine, reference resources and images for elementary age children.

MasterFILE Complete—contains thousands of full text popular magazines and peer-reviewed journals on a wide variety of topics, plus more than 55,000 primary source documents many of which are appropriate for middle or high school students.

Points of View Reference Center—provides critical analysis on more than 370 topics, each including an overview, and point and counterpoint argument. Great for the debate team or the essay writer.

NoveList K-8 Plus—contains summaries, reviews, series information and read-a-like suggestions on fiction and nonfiction books appropriate for the young reader.

NoveList Plus—contains summaries, reviews, series information and read-alike suggestions on fiction and nonfiction books appropriate for teens and young adults.

 

Biography Reference Center—contains more than 461,000 full text biographies. The Library Commission will also continue to subscribe to Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) until these two databases combine.

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).