Skip to main content
Nov. 29 - Middle School Team Meeting 12:30 (DO Space Meeting Room #2)
Nov. 30 - High School Team Meeting 12:30 (DO Space Meeting Room #2)
What Are We Thankful For?
Safari Montage Update
Safari Montage is no longer a service available to OPS staff. It was not renewed by state agencies due to contract negotiation issues and will not be purchased by the district.
Unity. Kindness. Peace. Booklist
The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is a division of the American Library Association. ALSC’s core purpose is creating a better future for children through libraries. ALSC advances that purpose through the core values of: collaboration, excellence, inclusiveness, innovation, integrity and respect, leadership and responsiveness. This booklist was created to share the message of creating unity, acting with kindness toward others, and promoting peace.
Extra ESL Program Books
Students in the ESL program create spiral bound books each year that are cataloged and sent to school libraries. You should have received some in your building recently. We do have some extras if anyone would like them. Please email Stacy to request.
Tiger Girl - 13 extras
What is that - 7 extras
Windows to our world - 1 extra
Talking Books/Braille Books
The Nebraska Library Commission's Talking Book and Braille Service (TBBS) is part of a nationwide network of cooperating libraries headed by the National Library Service (NLS), a division of the Library of Congress.
TBBS provides free audiobooks and audio magazines and braille through the mail and through digital download to individuals with a visual or physical condition, or a reading disability which limits use of regular print.
Our collection consists of books and magazines similar to those found in a public library. Our playback equipment is provided on long-term-loan free of charge. And the materials in our collection and the playback equipment are mailed to and from our library postage-free.
Our library service is available to individuals, as well as schools and other facilities, such as nursing homes, hospitals and senior citizen centers.
Learn More Here: http://nlc.nebraska.gov/TBBS/
Who Ya Gonna Call...or Email?
The fastest way to get your questions answered is to contact the right person!
- Stacy Lickteig (531) 299-9614: Technology, cataloging, copyright, budget and ordering
- Courtney Pentland (531) 299-9609: Library curriculum, Super 3+/Big 6+ Inquiry, Professional library, Newsletter Items
- Laura Pietsch (531) 299-9615: Policy, personnel and evaluation, Sherwood grants
Common Sense Media Survey for Elementary Librarians
After some discussion between our Common Sense Media trainer and library services, it has been determined that elementary librarians will conduct two Common Sense Media Lessons per school year for grades 3-6 starting in 2017-2018. We would like your input on which lessons you would like to teach. Please use the survey attached to see which lessons are available at each grade level. Items with ** are the traditionally required lesson taught each year. Items with * are the optional lessons.
Attached you will find a document with a suggested scope and sequence for all grades for CSM lessons to ensure overlap does not occur. You can use the blue links in each cell to view the lesson plan online.
Please note that teaching these lessons does not absolutely require technology access. (I taught them for several years with only a projector).
We would like input from all librarians as this will affect what each of you will be teaching. When completing the survey, you will need to pick TWO lessons per grade level. Please complete the survey by December 16th.
Hard to read, but the sign says, "Island of Misfit Books. These great books have been ignored and unloved. Give them a happy holiday and check them out!"
Magazine Orders Aren't Due Until Next Semester, but...
Principals and Libraries--A Perfect Match
Ten Resons Why the Internet Doesn't Replace a School Librarian
This list was adapted from a list that Cathy Jo Nelson adapted from someone else. Look this list over. What would you add? What would you take out? As you think about your Annual Reports, what "Top Five (or Ten) Reasons" are you important to your school? Not the library itself--but you?
- The free world wide web is vast, but solid research is not free. Your library offers valid online resources through Gale, Ebscohost,World Book, Pebble Go and an array of other subscription services to help learners and researchers sift through innocuous information often found in the vast ocean known as the world wide web.
- The needle (a search) in the haystack (free world wide web) – searching the free world wide web requires lots of time for one to sift through the gazillions of links. Try our pathfinders instead, or use smart searching strategies you have learned from your librarians. Use the subscription databases that not only steer you towards a more reliable set of resources, but also guarantees free access from the school’s filtered content.
- A school library with a certified librarian ensures quality control. As patrons use the Internet, they are taught and reminded to remember to evaluate each and every site for the world wide web. Remember how the librarian has talked about questioning reliability, accuracy, details, currency, authority, and bias before using that site in your research! This is true for any site, including those indexed in subscription databases.
- What you don’t know really does hurt you. Ignoring the evaluation tricks can lead your research down a treacherous path. Be sure to apply the search strategies your librarian has taught.
- The internet does not replace having books in the library. While digital resources are important, they do not replace paper copies of books. For many students in our district, access to digital technology outside of the school day is difficult. Plus, electronic resources do not replace the tactile experience of reading a book. Student panels have even expressed that they prefer print to digital books.
- Ebooks are much easier to access via the web. While print books are still important and valuable, providing resources in multiple formats to meet the needs of all of our patrons is also necessary. Students in elementary and elementary schools have access to digital books as do teachers in the professional library. These electronic items are still carefully selected by certified librarians to ensure they meet our district's selection criteria. How to access and use these eBooks also requires instruction provided by the school librarian.
- Schools can be successful even if “library-less” now that the Internet is widely available. Not true. The role of the library and the librarian is much more than physical space and books. We are instructional partners, collaborators, research and information specialists, and we strive to ensure our students are getting their needs met by educating the school community on best practice in terms of instruction AND resources/collection development. Collection development now includes curating (collecting, organizing and displaying) online information. We are the Google of our schools. An added bonus–a school library is not just a place to offer Internet access or books. It is a place designed for learning, either self-directed or collaboratively. School libraries of today are places where students can come to read for pleasure, study, research independently or with classes, and even delve into being a creator of information. School library programs of today strive to be a space in the building that offers flexibility to the school community, a place that can be made into a space that works for the needs of the learners. A school librarian ensures the evolution of the program continues to support the needs of the learners in the “learning commons.”
- But a Virtual Library ensures continued service, right? A virtual library (online resources) is just one facet of a program. What is lost when a library is purely virtual? Students and teachers lose the total instructional component of this picture. Who exposes students and teachers to new virtual library resources? Often these resources are complex, confusing, and just plain messy. Vital to their use is a library program that ensures the entire school community understands how to use them. In a way they are similar to the world wide web, and anyone can get lost or quickly frustrated with the search results. And to top it off, many “virtual libraries” are moving towards a simplified “Google” look. Search results are wide and plentiful. Students must be taught the purpose and search functionality of resources found in a virtual library as well so they can be successful in their quest for information.
- The Internet: a mile wide and an inch (or less) deep. Yes, relatively speaking, the Internet is young and not fully developed. And much of what is available for free is shallow. To gain more research worthy information, you will have to seek out sources that are provided by experts in their respective fields of research. Librarians are trained to select print and online resources that meet the needs of the curriculum in their school. Librarians work hand in hand with curriculum specialists and teachers to ensure they are providing access to the resources that will meet the research needs to the depth that various projects call for. This is true for online as well as print resources, and it is called collection development. A professionally trained school librarian fully understands this concept, and works tirelessly to ensure the needs of the school community are met–often on a shoestring budget.
- The Internet does not instill a habit or a love of reading. While locating book reviews and conversing with others about books you enjoyed is possible through many online sites, it does not replace the experience of asking for recommendations from knowledgeable certified librarians who have carefully maintained a library collection that meets the needs of the students in that unique building.
Ms. Nelson's Blog Post: http://blog.cathyjonelson.com/?p=1837
Original Source: Herring, M. Y. (2001). 10 Reasons the Internet Is No Substitute for a Library. American Libraries, 32(4), 76-78. Retrieved from EBSCOhost.
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).