Skip to main content

Check It Out: Resources

Your weekly news from the OPS Library Services Staff

Lightbox Flyer

Let's not forget to promote the Lightbox resources we purchased last spring. Attached is flyer that you can use or modify to promote this great resource in your buildings. Enjoy!

Integrated Pacing Guides

Each of the integrated pacing guides gives a snapshot of each quarter for each grade level.  For each grade level, you will also find suggested topics that would work well with the Super 3+/Big 6+ Inquiry process for both science and social studies.

DPL Online Resources

Professional Journals

Professional journals can be accessed 24/7 through libguides.ops.org/professionaljournalaccess.

If you are at a computer outside of the OPS network, you will need the login name and password for Ebsco.  Ask your school librarian or library services for this information.

Online Resources

Through district wide database subscriptions, OPS staff may access professional journals and research online.  The DPL staff is happy to provide instruction in the use of our available on-line databases.

DPL Print Resources

Book Resources

The District Professional Library is home to the district collection of professional books that can be checked out by any OPS employee. 

Visit the Omaha Public Schools online catalog:  youseemore.com/omahaps

Select the District Professional Library from the links on the left to search our professional collection.

Interlibrary Loan

If materials are not available directly from the DPL or other OPS libraries, we may be able to obtain them from other libraries nationwide.  Books borrowed through interlibrary loan are subject to the check out dates provided by the lending institution and may be anywhere from 3 weeks to 3 months.

{Please note that it may take up to 2 weeks for requested materials to arrive, and we cannot request AV materials or items published in the last 12 months.}

DPL Additional Services

OPS Archives

Omaha Public Schools documents, photographs, and news articles dating back to the 1870s are also housed in the DPL.  It is available on-site to school personnel and the public for historical research. Archive requests can be made by filling out the request form located below.

Video Use

Are your teachers or administrators wondering what is appropriate video use in a classroom setting? Check out the guidelines below.

Learn 360

Common Sense Media

If you're looking for ways tech can boost your teaching, this list is here to help. These top-rated apps and sites -- ranging from instructional supports to organizational tools to social networks and beyond -- help make one of the world's toughest jobs a bit easier. 

On this page you will find lesson plans from Common Sense Media.  Grades K-8 should be teaching at least one of the lessons listed below to each grade level.  The lesson plan is a guideline and can be adapted to suit your building needs.  Contact your technology teacher, if you have one, to see if they are already covering this material. 

MTC Trunks

You can check out trunks full of resources from the Media Technology center by emailing Sarah May.  Learn more about what is in each trunk here.

Ancient Egypt

Boys Town

Buffalo

Bugs

Camp Day

Camp Night

Douglas County 1854-1900

Douglas County Early Years to 1854

Gigantic Nebraska Map

Maximillian-Bodmer Expedition

Mexico Art and Culture

Nebraska's Germans from Russia

Nebraska's Mexican Americans

Nebraska's Swedish Americans

Nebraska's Vietanmese Americans

Union Pacific Railroad Museum

MTC World Cultures Resources

You can check out these resources from the Media Technology center by emailing Sarah May.  Learn more about what is in each trunk here.

Africa wood and clay animals

African Masks

Asian bamboo hat, book, clogs

Chinese abacus and book

Chinese fan and book

Native American drum

Native American personal adornment

Native American story robe and drum

Native American weavings

Tapas

Three Rivers Library System Book Bag Kit Program--UPDATE

The Three Rivers Library System has book bags to loan in both fiction titles and professional titles.  You can send an e-mail to trls.assistant@gmail.com or give me a call at the office (402) 330-7884. The office where you pick up the bags is located near 120th and Pacific.  Attached is an introduction to the new interface and instructions for the borrowing process. Check out there book sets here: http://libraries.ne.gov/trls/book-sets/.
 
Three Rivers Library System
11929 Elm St., Suite 18
Omaha, NE 68144

MTC Catalog

From Previous Newsletters 2016-2017

AASL Best of...

Contact List for Omaha Public Librarians

OPL Videos for Migrant/Refugee Families

The Welcome to the Library videos mentioned during the Migrant/Refugee presentation on Friday created by the Omaha Public Library in a variety of languages are available on our Library Services YouTube Channel

Resources from PBS

Fuel-up for an epic, back-to-school season with PBS! We're here to help you take the teaching world by storm with...

TeachingBooks.net

Announcing Enhanced Educator Login

This summer, TeachingBooks updated Educator Login so that all staff can now securely personalize their TeachingBooks experience. Benefits include each teacher creating custom reading lists, and saving and returning to their own text complexity rubrics.

Simply select "Educator Login" from the upper right of the screen, and follow the prompts, including:

  • Create a password
  • Check email to get a confirmation code.

Once confirmed, all that is required for future login is your email address and password.

We recommend that all staff members interested in optimizing their TeachingBooks experience create an Educator Login.

Questions: Reach out to the Professional Development Team for assistance.

Books, Books, and More Books

http://www.epicreads.com/

https://bookriot.com/

http://www.yabookscentral.com/

Talking Books/Braille Books

The Nebraska Library Commission's Talking Book and Braille Service (TBBS) is part of a nationwide network of cooperating libraries headed by the National Library Service (NLS), a division of the Library of Congress.

TBBS provides free audiobooks and audio magazines and braille through the mail and through digital download to individuals with a visual or physical condition, or a reading disability which limits use of regular print.

Our collection consists of books and magazines similar to those found in a public library. Our playback equipment is provided on long-term-loan free of charge. And the materials in our collection and the playback equipment are mailed to and from our library postage-free.

Our library service is available to individuals, as well as schools and other facilities, such as nursing homes, hospitals and senior citizen centers.

Learn More Here:  http://nlc.nebraska.gov/TBBS/

From Previous Newsletters 2015-2016

Go Noodle Plus

If you experience problems with accessing the new video player from Go Noodle, please see if the following suggestions help.  1)  Use Firefox.  2) Authenticate the filer through YouTube.  Let us know if this does not work for you. 

Teaching Channel Videos

The 50+ videos in this series showcase 10 Deeper Learning networks that are preparing students for success -- they collectively serve more than 500 schools and 227,000 students.

Teaching Channel is a thriving online community where teachers can watch, share, and learn diverse techniques to help every student grow.

This is the COOLEST Site!

I just found the coolest read aloud site!  It is sponsored by the Screen Actors Guild Foundation and features actors reading picture books.  There are almost 30 books on the site so far and you can look forward to sharing the following with your students:

http://www.storylineonline.net/

Sean Astin reading A Bad Case of the Stripes

Mindy Sterling reading The Library Lion

Melissa Gilbert reading My Rotten Redheaded Older Brother

James Earl Jones reading To Be A Drum

Amber Tamblyn reading White Socks Only

and much more including activity guides for the books!

P.S. These videos play through YouTube, which means you can turn on Closed Captioning if necessary.

Epic!

Introducing "Epic! for Educators." Available for FREE to all U.S. and Canada-based elementary school teachers and librarians. Our mission, like yours is to foster a life-long love of reading. Help us ignite young minds for a bright future by sharing Epic!

  • Completely free for all verified educators.
  • Unlimited access to thousands of high-quality titles.
  • Create up to 30 unique student profiles.
  • Track students reading progress.
  • Available on the iPad, iPhone and in any web browser.

Fabulous ELL Resources Site

Colorín Colorado is a national multimedia project that offers a wealth of bilingual, research-based information, activities, and advice for educators and families of English language learners (ELLs). Colorín Colorado is an educational service of WETA, the flagship public broadcasting station in the nation's capital, and receives major funding from the American Federation of Teachers and National Education Association. © Copyright 2015 WETA Public Broadcasting.

Looking for an Online Almanac?

We had a question about access to online almanacs recently.  The district does not subscribe to one, but there are several available through NebraskAccess in case you are interested!

http://nebraskaccess.nebraska.gov/almanacs.asp

Websites Selected by Librarians

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).