Skip to main content

District Professional Library: Makerspaces /Kits

Makerspaces and Kits in the District Professional Library

Welcome! The items below are available to be checked out from the District Professional Library.  For the 2016-2017 school year, these items can be used for training purposes or for review prior to purchasing. These items are not to be used with students at this time.  Please contact Courtney Pentland to check out one of these items or with any questions.  Thank you! (Vendors for the non-book items are listed at the top of each column)

Fat Brain Toys

Magnatiles

 

Playstix

Straw Connectors

Tinker Toy

 

K'Nex

 

Contraptions

Trucky 3

Brain Flakes

Find It Tube

Squigz

Spirograph

Play and Trace Boogie Board

Story Cubes

Tell Me A Story Cards--COMING SOON

Spot It

Bananagrams

Quadrillion

Pentago

StikBot

Makey-Makey

Robot Turtles

Laser Maze

Lakeshore Learning

Design and Build (Grade Pre-K-1st Grade)

(each kit can be shipped separately)

Fairy Tales Problem Solving STEM Kit (Grades Pre-K-1st)

(each kit can be shipped separately)

3 Little Pigs, 3 Billy Goats Gruff, Goldilocks & the 3 Bears

Folk Tales Problem Solving STEM Kits (Grades 2nd-3rd)

(each kit can be shipped separately)

Johnny Appleseed, John Henry, Paul Bunyon

Tangrams with Cards

Physical Science Activity Labs (Grades 3rd-5th)

(each kit can be shipped separately)

Force and Motion, Electricity, Simple Machines

Real-World STEM Challenge Kit (Grades 2nd-3rd)

Shipped together as a set

Real-World STEM Challenge Kit (Grades 4th-5th)

Shipped together as a set

STEM Learning Lab (Grades 2nd-3rd)

(each kit can be shipped separately)

Plane Designer, Car Designer, Windmill Designer

STEM Learning Lab (Grades4th-5th)

(each kit can be shipped separately)

Don't Lose Your Marbles, Alarm Your Pencil Box, Space Lander

 

Follett

Cover image for 14 in 1 educational solar robot.

14 in 1 Solar Robot: The solar powered robot can be transformed into 14 different robot modes which include a multitude of comical and functional movements.

Cover image for 6 in 1 educational solar kit.

6 in 1 Solar Kit: For the first time experimenters with little or no experience

Cover image for Air power racer kit.

Air Power Racer: Build a race car powered by pumping air into the tank--instead of using a motor or battery power--that drives the vehicle a distance up to 50 meters in 35 seconds.

Cover image for Dash.

Dash (and Dot): Introduces young readers to robots, with Dash who responds to voice, navigates objects, dances, and can sing.

Cover image for Amusement park experience = L'...

K'Nex Amusment Park: Set includes enough to build 13 K'NEX amusement park rides and to build two of most models simultaneously. Supports 6-8 students working as teams...

Cover image for Roller coaster physics = Physi...

K'Nex Roller Coaster Physics: Designed to help students as they learn how to design and conduct scientific investigations, identify variables of the problem and select appropriate independent and dependent variables for investigations.

Cover image for Forces, energy and motion = Fo...

K'Nex Forces, Energy, and Motion: Presents a set that helps students investigate a variety of concepts related to force, energy, and motion. Contains 442 parts that can be reused and instructions for 11 vehicles that can be built four at a time. '

Cover image for Simple and compound machines =...

K'Nex Simple and Compound Machines: Students investigate, explore and experiment with the K'NEX simple machine models as they analyze, synthesize, and evaluate information. Build 16 fully-functioning replicas of real-world machines

Cover image for Robotics : building system = R...

K'Nex Robotics Building System: Design and build fully-functioning models, write computer programs, and use the Robotics Programming Software to communicate with and operate the models to solve Challenge Activities outlined in the lesson plans.

Cover image for STEM explorations.

K'Nex Stem Explorations: Designed for students to investigate a variety of concepts related to science, technology, engineering and math. The modules are hands-on, cooperative activites providing stimulating inquiry and problem solving through design.

Cover image for Kid K'NEX group set.

Kid K'Nex Group Set: Contains plastic Kid K'NEX parts that can be reused and cards that show on a 1-to-1 scale how to construct models of eight different animals.

Cover image for Gyroscopes & flywheels.

Gyroscopes & Flywheels: Conduct twenty different experiments with the small, fast-spinning gyroscope in this kit. Build models and perform experiments that appear to defy the force of gravity by balancing and standing upright when common sense would tell you they should fall over.

Cover image for Hydraulic arm edge.

Hydraulic Arm Edge:  A hydro-mechanical robotic arm kit that features six axes of movement and enables operators to "vacuum" and lift objects.

Cover image for Inventor basic : 30 models.

Inventor Basic: Contains pieces capable of creating 30 motorized machines and vehicles. 8 model instructions found in manual and 22 model instructions found on website.

Cover image for Kids first physics lab.

Kids First Physics Lab: Provides children with an introduction to physics that includes twenty models to build and includes twenty-two science experiments.

Cover image for Kids First robot engineer : en...

Kids First Robot Engineer: Bbuild 10 non-motorized robot models accompanied by a story book in which two inquisitive kids, Ty and Karlie construct and fix robots during their adventure to an automated candy factory.

Cover image for Amusement park engineer.

Kids First Amusement Park Engineer: Encourages children to follow two kids in a story who build models of amusement park rides with twenty structures and machines they can build.

Cover image for Learn and build. Lunar modules...

Learn and Build Lunar Module: Papertronics are paper toys with paper electronic circuits in them. The Lunar Landers come in a pack of three. Spaceboy, Alien Girl and Tabula Rasa. Tabula Rasa is blank and can be designed by you.

littleBits Base Kit

Cover image for littleBits cloudbit starter kit.

littleBits Cloud Starter Kit: This kit includes the cloudBit plus 5 prototyping modules; everything students need to create internet-connected devices

Cover image for littleBits education STEAM stu...

littleBits Steam Education student set: Contains Bits pieces that snap together with magnets for four different guided inventing challenges and four open inventing challenges that align with STEAM.

Cover image for littlebits Electronics hardwar...

littleBits electronic hardware develoment kit

Cover image for littleBits gizmos & gadgets.

littleBits gizomos and gadgets: A collection of twelve inventions with step-by-step instructions in which young readers can build a remote control racecar, a automatic bubble blowing device, a bumper ball game, and more.

Cover image for littleBits KORG synth kit.

littleBits KORG synth kit: Get step-by-step instructions for 10 musical inventions

Cover image for Ozobot bit. Competition series.

Ozobot bit--Competition Series: "Creative robotics to learn and play.";"Learn programing through color language & Blockly.";"Comes with web and printable games and activities.

Cover image for Rubber band racers.
Rubber Band Racers: Learn about physics through instructions and materials for building five models

Cover image for Snap Circuits deluxe light & s...

Snap Circuits Deluxe Light and Sound Combo:  Build over 350 light and sound projects using electronic circuits.

Cover image for Snap Circuits green : alternat...

Snap Circuits Green-Alternative Energy: Learn about various energy sources--including geothermal, hydrogen fuel cells, wind, solar, tidal, hydro, and more--and start thinking green by building over 125 projects.

Cover image for Ubongo.

Ubongo: The geometric puzzle game Ubongo, in which players race against the timer and against each other to solve a puzzle of interlocking shapes in order to earn gems.

Cover image for Volcanoes & earthquakes.

Volcanoes and Earthquakes: Build and erupt a model volcano with plaster-based "lava" that hardens after each eruption. The volcano can be erupted multiple times, and the volcanic cone builds up with each eruption, like a real volcano. Build a working seismograph, and fake some 'quakes to see for yourself how scientists measure earthquake forces. Assemble a plate tectonics puzzle and a geological globe.

Cover image for Wind power (V3.0).

Wind Power: Assemble a wind turbine complete with electric generator and adjustable rotor blades. 

Books in District Professional Library

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).