Skip to main content

District Professional Library: Free Images, Video, Music, Sound

Fair Use, Images, and Video

Watch these Common Craft videos on Richard Byrne's blog, Copyright and Creative Commons,  to learn more about Creative Commons, copyright, patents, and trademarks.

Online Sources for Free Sounds, Video, and Music

Creative Commons Directory of Resources
 


 

The Public Domain Review: 

  • Contains images, books, films, audio, and animated gifs
  • Founded in 2011

Promotes public domain works that are free to share and build on without restriction

  • Searchable according to date, style, genre, and rights
  • Directions for downloading and saving are in each collection

 


 

Music

 

Free Music Archive:

  • Searchable
  • Interactive library of free music downloads.
  • Music is free but each selection is under Creative Commons license (learn more about attribution and rights at their FAQ link)

 


 

Sound Effects

 

SoundGator

  • Searchable library of free sound effects for use in any multimedia project
  • May not sell, license, distribute, or post online the sound effects alone (read more about their User License)

 

Wikimedia Commons

"Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language."


Free Music Archive

 


Moving Image Archive


archive.org

Online Sources for Free Images

OpenClipArt

Image from https://openclipart.org/image/300px/svg_to_png/193992/Openclipart-Scissors-Logo-in-Blue.png

Following is a statement from the creators about the use of images from Openclipart: "Openclipart may be used for any purpose, including unlimited commercial productions, as royalty-free clipart, for schools, churches, commercial and non-commercial reasons. The Openclipart community believes that clipart should be removed of as many restrictions as humanly possible so that the clipart may spread as far and wide as un-imaginable. If in doubt, use our clipart. The following chart explains clearly common uses we allow, which is all uses."


Creative Commons Directory of Resources
 


 

The Public Domain Review: 

  • Contains images, books, films, audio, and animated gifs
  • Founded in 2011

Promotes public domain works that are free to share and build on without restriction

  • Searchable according to date, style, genre, and rights
  • Directions for downloading and saving are in each collection

 

Images

Morgue File

  • Contains free contemporary, downloadable public domain images that can be used in academic and commercial projects
  • Searchable by subject, size, color, rating
  • Check attribution information with each use
  • Learn more about the image license

 


Library of Congress - Prints and Photographs Collection

 

  • Searchable, downloadable, historical collection of more than 1.2 million images, some of which are only accessible as thumbnail images
  • Obligation for satisfying copyright restrictions rests with the user

 

Wikimedia Commons

"Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language."


 

Pixabay


 

 British Library Public Domain Images via Flickr

 

  

Legal Simplicity

All photos and videos on Pexels are free for any personal and commercial purpose.

https://www.pexels.com

 

 

 

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).