Skip to main content

District Professional Library: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the District Professional Library!  How Can We Help You?

Search the DPL Catalogs

What Can the District Professional Library Do for You?

  • Professional Journals
  • Online Databases
  • Professional Library
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • E-books
  • Audio Books
  • Omaha Public Schools Historical Archives
  • Makerspaces/Kits
  • Mobile Libraries

DPL Hours

Library Hours

Monday-Friday

7:30 AM—4:00 PM

 

DPL Staff and Contact Information

Call or email anytime — we will be happy to send OPS employees any of our materials via interdepartmental mail or email.

Courtney Pentland

(Lead Teacher/ Research Librarian)

Phone:  (531)-299-9609

courtney.pentland@ops.org

DPL Online Resources

Professional Journals

Professional journals can be accessed 24/7 through libguides.ops.org/professionaljournalaccess.

If you are at a computer outside of the OPS network, you will need the login name and password for Ebsco.  Ask your school librarian or library services for this information.

Online Resources

Through district wide database subscriptions, OPS staff may access professional journals and research online.  The DPL staff is happy to provide instruction in the use of our available on-line databases.

DPL Print Resources

Book Resources

The District Professional Library is home to the district collection of professional books that can be checked out by any OPS employee. 

Visit the Omaha Public Schools online catalog:  youseemore.com/omahaps

Select the District Professional Library from the links on the left to search our professional collection.

Interlibrary Loan

If materials are not available directly from the DPL or other OPS libraries, we may be able to obtain them from other libraries nationwide.  Books borrowed through interlibrary loan are subject to the check out dates provided by the lending institution and may be anywhere from 3 weeks to 3 months.

{Please note that it may take up to 2 weeks for requested materials to arrive, and we cannot request AV materials or items published in the last 12 months.}

DPL Additional Services

OPS Archives

Omaha Public Schools documents, photographs, and news articles dating back to the 1870s are also housed in the DPL.  It is available on-site to school personnel and the public for historical research. Archive requests can be made by filling out the request form located:

 

**Research Requests

The District Professional Library will perform researching tasks when requests are made by Central Office and building administrators and the information is used in program planning, development, and implementation.

Are you in Grad School?

To learn more about searching our databases for articles, please watch our YouTube video on Ebsco.  It is located on our Library Services YouTube Channel.

Do you need to find professional articles for a graduate school assignment?  Here are a few tips to make your search more successful:

1)  You may want to try to access the professional journals your university subscribes to through their library as they may have a wider selection available than we do through the district.

2)  You may also search through district purchased database subscriptions to find what you need.  To learn how to use our Ebsco databases, you can watch this YouTube video:  http://youtu.be/J4smmTfIu4c

If you want to get to Ebsco while outside of an OPS building, you will need login names and passwords.  Please contact your building school librarian or the Research Librarian (ext. 2533) to get these login names and passwords.

3)  Not finding what you need?

      A)  adjust your search terms.  Try using different terminology or reorder your search terms.  Conducing a Google search to see what others are calling your topic may also help you find new search terms.  Not sure how to do this?  Check out these links: Top 10 Tips  OR  Database Search Tips

      B)  Look at the bibliographies included in other articles to see what they cited as sources, and then look for those in whichever database you choose to use.

      C)  Consider using an article that covers a similar topic, grade level, or subject area.

If during your search you run into any problems locating the materials you need and would like some suggestions on search terms or other resources to explore, please feel free to contact the Research Librarian or consider checking with your school librarian. Good luck with your project!

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).