Skip to main content

Zoo Research: Research

Ebsco Databases

  Ebsco Host contains two databases useful for finding science related information. Click on the icon for Ebsco Host, you will be prompted to enter an ID and password which you were given during class. On the database page, click on the icon for Ebsco Host.


Select  OmniFile Full Text Select and Academic Search Premier as your databases.

Gale Databases

Student Resources In Context    Search in Student Resources for academic journal articles on your topic.  You will need the password provided during class to access the the database.

  Only available with valid library card from the Omaha Public Library for OPS students. Covers the latest scientific developments in articles from over two hundred magazines and academic journals and links to quality websites.

UNO Resources

High school students are welcome to come to the UNO Criss Library to use its resources for academic research. This includes all of the collections, both print and media, and the electronic resources including databases and Internet access. Research advice and assistance in the use of resources is available at all service desks. Copying and printing services are available for a fee. 

Indexes 2,500 peer-reviewed scientific journals and more than 10,000 books

Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.

Web of Science is a citation index which helps to you to find other articles or authors who are writing on your topic. 

Open Zoology Journal

The Open Zoology Journal is an Open Access online journal, which publishes research articles, reviews, and letters in all areas of zoology. The Open Zoology Journal, a peer-reviewed journal, aims to provide the most complete and reliable source of information on current developments in the field. The emphasis will be on publishing quality papers rapidly and freely available to researchers worldwide.

Helpful Writing Links

The Purdue Online Writing Lab contains several articles that can help you in your writing process.  The following articles are particularly helpful:

Evaluating Sources: Overview

Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing

Is it Plagiarism Yet?

Transitional Devices

Science Library Intro for High School Students

The Science Library Intro for High School Students has some good links for building a thesis as well as links to open source science journals and articles.

NoodleTools

OPS students can create an account in NoodleTools while in their building.  Once an account is created, access to NoodleTools is available anywhere with internet access.

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).