Skip to main content

District Professional Library: Home

Search the DPL Catalogs

DPL Online Resources

Professional Journals

All residents of the state of Nebraska have access to NebraskAccess databases.  One of the options is EBSCO.  To access, you will need to be in an OPS building or enter your driver's license number.

https://nebraskaccess.nebraska.gov/

After clicking on the link above, click on the LOGIN button on the right side of th page.

 

DPL Print Resources

Book Resources

The District Professional Library is home to the district collection of professional books that can be checked out by any OPS employee. 

Visit the Omaha Public Schools online catalog:  youseemore.com/omahaps

Select the District Professional Library from the links on the left to search our professional collection.

Interlibrary Loan

If materials are not available directly from the DPL or other OPS libraries, you may be able to obtain them from other libraries nationwide through the Omaha Public Library  https://omahalibrary.org/interlibrary-loan/

DPL Additional Services

OPS Archives

Omaha Public Schools documents, photographs, and news articles dating back to the 1870s are also housed in the DPL.  It is available on-site to school personnel and the public for historical research. Archive requests can be made by contacting Sarah May at 531-299-9359  or via email at sarah.may@ops.org

DPL Staff and Contact Information

Call or email anytime — we will be happy to send OPS employees any of our materials via interdepartmental mail or email.

Gwen Jackson                                                                       Library Hours

(Library Services Secretary)                                                 Monday-Friday                                     

Phone:  531-299-0249                                                        7:30 AM—4:00 PM

gwendolyn.jackson@ops.org

Are you in Grad School?

To learn more about searching our databases for articles, please watch our YouTube video on Ebsco.  It is located on our Library Services YouTube Channel.

Do you need to find professional articles for a graduate school assignment?  Here are a few tips to make your search more successful:

1)  You may want to try to access the professional journals your university subscribes to through their library as they may have a wider selection available than we do through the district.

2)  You may also use the databases provided by NebraskAccess--See box on right side of this page)

3)  Not finding what you need?

      A)  adjust your search terms.  Try using different terminology or reorder your search terms.  Conducing a Google search to see what others are calling your topic may also help you find new search terms.  Not sure how to do this?  Check out these links: Top 10 Tips  OR  Database Search Tips

      B)  Look at the bibliographies included in other articles to see what they cited as sources, and then look for those in whichever database you choose to use.

      C)  Consider using an article that covers a similar topic, grade level, or subject area.

If during your search you run into any problems locating the materials you need and would like some suggestions on search terms or other resources to explore, please consider checking with your school librarian. Good luck with your project!

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).