Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Central High School Library Home Page: Justice Research Allen and Orr

Essential Questions

  • What are the barriers to justice? 
  • How do people use ethical, emotional, and logical appeals to develop an argument? How can a person make a convincing case about a problem that inspires people to take action? 
  • How do different values, motivations, biases, and experiences shape an individual’s perspective? 
  • What methods do people take to fight for liberty/justice? What are the advantages/ disadvantages/ misconceptions/ understandings of these methods? (Some methods might be writing, protesting, music, marching, picketing, using the law, rioting, etc.  Does justice mean different things to different people? Are there incorrect ways to define justice?) 

 

Some Other Questions to Consider 

What is social justice?

To what extent does power or the lack of power affect individuals?

What is oppression and what are the root causes?

How are prejudice and bias created? How do we overcome them?

What are the responsibilities of the individual in regard to issues of social justice?

How can literature serve as a vehicle for social change?

When should an individual take a stand against what he/she believes to be an injustice? What are the most effective ways to do this?

What are the factors that create an imbalance of power within a culture?

What does power have to do with fairness and justice?

When is it necessary to question the status quo? Who decides?

What are the benefits and consequences of questioning / challenging social order?

How do stereotypes influence how we look at and understand the world?

What does it mean to be invisible? (context: minorities)

In what ways can a minority keep their issues on the larger culture’s “radar screen?”

What creates prejudice, and what can an individual overcome it?

What are the causes and consequences of prejudice and injustice, and how does an individual’s response to them reveal his/her true character?

What allows some individuals to take a stand against prejudice/oppression while others choose to participate in it?

What are the causes and consequences of prejudice and how does an individual’s response to it reveal his/her morals, ethics, and values?

from TeachThought.org

Analyze and Examine Key Terms

Examine some key terms related to justice. How do various dictionaries define them? How do you define them? 

Resources

You can access POV, Explora, and Gale (Opposing Viewpoints and High School inContext) using the Clever Link. 

  

Historical Research/Primary Sources

 

About this Collection:

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

These original photographs document the involvement of Queens College students and other Northerners in the Civil Rights Movement of the early to mid 1960s, including Mississippi Freedom Summer, the Virginia Student Help Project, the Summer Community Organization and Political Education (SCOPE) Project, and the Medical Committee for Human Rights (MCHR).
Search CHS Register Archives from 1874 to present. Scans are currently word searchable one issue at a time. Look at timelines to search for CHS responses. North Omaha History and Civil Rights History from the Library of Congress might be goos places to start. 
Ken Burns and his collaborators have been creating historical documentary films for more than forty years. Known for a signature style that brings primary source documents, images, and archival video footage to life on screen, these films present the opportunity to pose thought-provoking questions for students, and introduce new ideas, perspectives, and primary sources. 
From the Library of Congress: Songs have suffused the political scene throughout the course of American history. From anti-slavery songbooks compiled by fugitive slaves in the early nineteenth century to collaborative videos of recording superstars performing for famine relief in the late twentieth century, songs have helped accomplish goals of great social importance. Songs have suffused the political scene throughout the course of American history. "Songs are the statement of a people. You can learn more about people by listening to their songs than any other way, for into the songs go all the hopes and hurts, the angers, fears, the wants and aspirations."—John Steinbeck, 1940

 

Current Headlines

 

 

The Arts

 

Welcome to The Quarry: A Social Justice Poetry Database!

The Quarry is a searchable collection of over 500 poems by a diverse array of contemporary socially engaged poets, published by Split This Rock since 2009. Like all of Split This Rock’s programs, The Quarry is designed to bring poetry fully to the center of public life.

Searchable by social justice theme, author’s identity, state, and geographic region, The Quarry is a unique, rich resource.

Whether you are organizing for social justice, work as a teacher or social worker, or are planning a worship service or other public event, The Quarry offers poems that will inform and inspire you, your peers, and all with whom you work and collaborate.

Split This Rock celebrates the power of the imagination to transform the individual and society. Poems in The Quarry help us name injustices and grieve losses both personal and communal. They speak our rage and our resistance. And they imagine another world, one built on justice and with the power of love. We are so grateful to the brave, visionary poets for their words.

We invite you to explore The Quarry: use the tags at the bottom to let one poem lead you to another, get to know poets in your state or region, watch videos, luxuriate in these gorgeous, hurting, challenging, and comforting words. Split some rocks!

 

 

Protest music has existed for centuries, through the ages of slavery, world wars, and civil rights, fueling movements risen from racist violence, gender inequality, and opposition to the Trump administration. Sometimes, they come in the form of calls to action; other times they’re quiet laments of human suffering and pain. Throughout the years, as protests have erupted across the United States — and the world — artists have gathered inspiration from movements, and activists have in turn chanted the lyrics to these songs of the streets. Here are 13 evergreen protest songs from throughout the years that demonstrate the intimate links between politics and music.

 

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).