Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Davis Middle School Library: Research Help

Evaluating Web Resources

THE FIVE W'S OF WEB SITE EVALUATION

WHO:

  • žWho is the author? ž
  • Can you contact them?
  • Is the author an expert on the subject?
  • žIs the site created by a reliable organization?

WHAT:ž

  • What is the purpose of the website?  (Entertain?  Persuade?  Inform?)
  • žIs the information biased?
  • žIs it well written?žAre there grammar or spelling errors?
  • žDo the authors give their own citations?
  • žDo graphics or videos serve a purpose/are they useful?

WHEN:

  • žWhen was the last update or creation date?
  • žIs there link rot? (broken or old links)

WHERE:

  • žWhat is the site extension and what does it mean? (gov, com, org, edu, mil)

WHY:

  • žWhy is this site better than others?
  • Is there enough information to meet my needs?

Types of Web Resources

Online Databases

Online Databases are a group of web subscription resources that the library has selected for patrons use.  The library pays the cost of the subscription to ensure that patrons have reliable resources to easily use.  Online Databases have been evaluated by the librarians to ensure their content is current, relevant, and meets the needs of the widest variety of patrons.  Online databases include encyclopedias, magazines, eBooks, and reference materials.  Patrons can use the information, pictures, diagrams, and videos found on the databases with confidence knowing that the information is of the highest quality.

 

Search Engines

A search engine is a web site that collects and organizes content from all over the internet. Those wishing to locate something enter a term for what they would like to find and the engine provides links to websites that have the same term somewhere on the website.  The problem with search engines is that the pages suggested are not selected for quality or relevance to what the person is looking for the suggestion is solely based on the term the person uses and how the engine ranks the pages.  Search engines tend to return a large number of results with the most popular or best matches for your words at the top.  When using a search engine the web pages must be individually evaluated by the user.

Wikipedia

Wikipedia is a free, open content online encyclopedia created through the collaborative effort of a community of users known as Wikipedians . Anyone registered on the site can create an article for publication; registration is not required to edit articles. The site's name comes from wiki, a server program that enables anyone to edit Web site content through their Web browser.  Users of Wikipedia need to remember that anyone can edit the information on the site so all entries need to be carefully evaluated.

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).