I LOVE TO
I love taking pictures of kids reading and holding books! It generates excitement and encourages the habit of reading! It is also a great way to motivate proper procedure because I only take pictures of students who are following our library procedures!
Mentor: I worked with Chelsea Hoschar, a new librarian at Spring Lake. It was a pleasure helping her navigate her first year as a librarian. We met multiple times quarterly to discuss her successes, her concerns, and her goals. We set tangible goals, which she was able to easily measure and move forward, growing in her library and leadership skills. I am excited about her future!
Team Leader for Specialists: I was the Team Leader for our specialist team. I met with, or communicated with via email to the other specialists as we set school academic and behavioral goals. This was a difficult area for we rarely have plan time at the same time, and on TEAM days we librarians are meeting with other librarians. This is an area that needs more development.
Golden Sower Club Manager: I organized, promoted, and managed the Golden Sower Clubs in grades 4, 5, and 6. We had such large numbers of participants that we held our club meetings in the library on check out days. Participants received two books to read and keep, along with the all school read, Charlie Bumpers vs Teacher of the Year. Participants signed contracts saying they would read the book club books. Because of our school renovation we did not have a large celebratory party at the end of the year, rather they received a reading certificate and a candy bar.
Dr. Seuss Week Coordinator: I organized and managed our Dr. Seuss Week readers and activities. We celebrated for four days. Every primary class had at least three guest readers throughout the week. In addition to promoting reading, I use this special week as a time to promote any type of learning, (guests from the Humane Society), safety (guests from the police and fire departments) and cultural awareness, (guests from diverse backgrounds.)
PebbleGo: We taught and used this database to grades K through 3. Third grade used a print resource and PebbleGo to support their animal research, which was initiated at the classroom level. With grades K, 1, and 2 we used PebbleGo as a resource for teaching biographies, seasons, and animals. In all cases, we focus on how to navigate the database, with a special emphasis on online text features.
WorldBook Student/Kids and CultureGrams: We taught usage of these databases. Grades 5 and 6 used both World Book Student and CultureGrams as resources when doing their country and state research. Again, we focus on how to navigate the database and use the tools within the database.
Tumble Books: Throughout the year we reminded students and staff about this resource. We used it in the library when the public librarian visited.
Early World of Learning: Demonstrated to K and 1, as an extra if we had some time. Focused on Nursery Rhymes and Songs.
BrainPop: This was purchased for our school through the YMCA program. We used this database for some of our online lessons with grades 5 and 6.
TeachingBooks.net: I used this website for ideas when planning lessons for books.
August: Procedures, review of shelf marker usage, book care, book bag. Predictions, resolutions.
September: Begin Golden Sower books, author websites, text feature; speech bubbles, quotation marks. Begin preparing for author/illustrator visit, Don Tate.
October: Continue Don Tate books, asking "thick" questions, historical fiction.
November/December: Continue Golden Sower books, themes; showing kindness (The Invisible Boy), exaggeration (Meanwhile, Back at the Ranch), story plot, (Super Hairo and the Barber of Doom)
January: Finish Golden Sower and vote. Martin Luther King, Jr, informational text.
February: Biography, George Washington, using AV2 Materials. Prepare for Jodi Moore.
March: Dr. Seuss Week, guest readers and special activities. Biographies, President Obama. Common Sense Media, My Online Community.
April/May: School wide bullying focus, How Full is Your Bucket. Caldecott winner, Finding Winnie, the True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear, by Lindsay Mattick, focusing on historical fiction. Poetry, (imagery) and memorizing one poem, The Swing, by Robert Lewis Stevenson. Promote Omaha Public Library's summer reading program with visits from Cherese McKnight, Youth Librarian from South Branch.
August: Expectations/procedures/ shelf marker usage. Introduce Golden Sower Club. Review online catalog.
September: Since some of our students were taking part in the Nation wide singing of the National Anthem on September 11, we did a study of the Star Spangled Banner using World Book Kids. We learned how to use the different tools within the database. We also studied vocabulary associated with the Star Spangled Banner. Begin preparing for author visit from Lauren Oliver.
October: Asking "thick" questions, in preparation for author visits, (Don Tate and Lauren Oliver). Book talk Oliver books and read Don Tate books, Moses and Hope's Gift. Start Golden Sower club on check out days.
November: Writing a thank you letter, (using transitional words). Continue Golden Sower club on check out days.
December: Finish thank you letters. Continued Golden Sower club on check out days.
January: Begin research project in collaboration with classroom. Famous Nebraskan. Focus this month, note taking, treasure and trash. Modeling procedure. Continue Golden Sower club on check out days.
February: Teams work on note taking for Famous Nebraskan project. Continue Golden Sower clubs on check out days.
March: Prepare for author visit, Bill Harley. Writing thank you letters. Golden Sower club.
April/May: Common Sense Media, Strong passwords. Caldecott winner, Finding Winnie, The True Story the World's Most Famous Bear; historical fiction. Begin Office 365 PowerPoint on Famous Nebraskan.
We were blessed with visits from four different authors this year. Here is a brief summary:
Lauren Oliver: Came in October and spoke with grades 4, 5, and 6. This opportunity came to us because she was making a publicity visit promoting her new book, Curiosity House, The Shrunken Head, at the public library and we were able to tag onto this visit. We also book talked her other books for intermediate grades, Liesl & Po, and Spindlers. The students loved her books, and they loved her! Watching her present was like watching a dance! Unfortunately, I cannot find any of the pictures I took of her!
Don Tate: Came at the end of October and visited grades 2, 3, and 4. Also spent time with a few selected 6th graders answering questions. The students LOVED his books, and continue to ask for Don Tate books. In order to get through all of his books, the music teacher and the computer teacher helped read and discuss his books in their classes. He was fantastic, and even his little time with the 6th grade students was praised by one of the 6th grade teachers
Jodi Moore: Visited grades K, 1 and 2, and stopped in to say hello to our 3rd graders, who had met her before. The students loved her and enjoyed lessons on drawing dragons using an online source, plus her books of course! When a Dragon Moves In and When a Dragon Moves in Again.
Bill Harley: Visited with grades 4, 5, and 6. Mr. Harley's book, Charlie Bumpers vs Teacher of the Year was our all school read this year. I chose it because it was a bit easier, and usually the Golden Sower books are a bit of a stretch for many 4th graders. As we prepared for Mr. Harley we discovered that he is a performer, musician, an author, a radio personality and more. The students LOVED him. He had the students captivated from his first song throughout his entire presentation. After three presentations he stayed and visited with every student, as he signed autographs. He was a pure delight and a real treat for our students.
This year's goals:
1. Continue with the Golden Sower Club. I am very proud of this program and believe that it is helping our students develop better reading skills and with growing a love of reading. Our school's dedication to funding authors, beyond the budget I have from Sherwood, has helped greatly. I want to continue this program, and have spoken with our school's literacy specialist about ways to improve the program.
2. Grow as a mentor. Last year I was okay, but this year I had a strategy and I was way more effective. Along with helping one of our new librarians, I have learned a lot myself. Going to the mentor sessions is always a great refresher course for me.
3. Continue building our research program. This still needs work, but we are doing a better job collaborating with teachers, and so we will continue to work in this area.
We start out the year with some long range grade level goals. We infuse these goals with the concepts being taught in the classroom by using the pacing guides. Here is a brief summary of what we accomplished this year in grades K and 1st:
August: Expectations/procedures/rhyming books
September: Authors/illustrators/begin Golden Sower books/author websites
October: Informational text, (print resource); table of contents, headings, labels/ Fiction: beginning, middle, end. Continue Golden Sower.
November: Informational text, (online resource), PebbleGo, navigating this database and using its tools.Continue Golden Sower.
December: Continue Golden Sower/ sequencing
January: Finish Golden Sower/ Biographies, Martin Luther King, Jr. (Lightbox print and online resource)
February: Biography, print resource, George Washington./ Prepare for author visit, Jodi Moore
March: Dr. Seuss Week, guest readers and activities. Author visit, Jodi Moore. Biography, PebbleGo, President Obama. Common Sense Media, (K) Going places safely, (1st) Staying Safe Online.
April: School wide focus on anto bullying, How Full is Your Bucket. How to use drawing books, (how they are different from coloring books that we own.)
May: Imagery, through poetry and Kevin Henkes' book, Waiting. Promote Omaha Public Library's summer reading program with visits from Cherese McKnight, Youth Librarian from South Branch.
August: Procedures/expectations. Book care, book bag. Review shelf marker usage. Begin Golden Sower Books.
September: Continue Golden Sower books, focus on dialog. Begin preparing for author/illustrator Don Tate visit. Author websites, taking notes using 4 square graphic organizer. Historical fiction.
October: Continue note taking and historical fiction as we prepare for Don Tate's visit. Asking "thick" questions.
November: Continue Golden Sower books. We created a Golden Sower booklet to help us remember the stories. (This was not overly successful since we tended to run out of time)
December: Introduce animal research/note taking lessons, searching for treasure not trash.
January: Animal research using PebbleGo and one print resource. Focus on taking notes and telling people where you got your information, citation.
February: Finish Golden Sower books and vote. Prepare for a brief hello from Jodi Moore by reading When a Dragon Moves In.
March: Dr. Seuss Week, guest readers and activities. Biographies, President Obama. Common Sense Media, Private and Personal Information.
April/May: Caldecott, Finding Winnie, the True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear, historical fiction. Poetry, (imagery) and memorize the poem, The Swing, by Robert Lewis Stevenson. Promoted summer reading by inviting Youth Librarian from South Branch.
August: Expectations, procedures. Introduce Golden Sower clubs. Online catalog review.
September: World Book Student usage. Studied National Anthem using WBS, vocabulary and history. Begin preparing for author visit, Lauren Oliver.
October: Continue preparation for Lauren Oliver. Asking "thick" questions. Writing thank you letters. Lesson on Task definition.
November/December: Lesson on Veteran's Day. Web citations. Golden Sower club on check out days.
January: Note taking strategies, using World Book Student, topic, Holocaust. Learning strategy, reciprocal learning while reading article online. Continue Golden Sower club on check out days.
February/March: Continue lessons from January, plus a lesson on main ideas, using Lightbox book on Martin Luther King, Jr. Bill Harley visit. Write thank yous.
April/May: Common Sense Media, Privacy Rules.
Students presenting their articles on online sources from BrainPop. Also lessons from BrainPop, Online sources and online safety. Caldecott winner, Finding Winnie, the True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear; historical fiction.
August: Expectations/ procedures. Online catalog usage.
September: World Book Student, focus National Anthem and Francis Scott Key. Strategy, reciprocal learning while reading an article online. Begin preparation for Lauren Oliver, book talks, overview of author.
October: More preparation for Lauren Oliver. Teach usage of CultureGrams. Begin Golden Sower club process, signing up, contracts.
November/December: Note taking, outline format, ABC LOU. Review guiding questions from classroom teacher, understanding the rubric, begin country research, working in groups. Golden Sower club on check out days.
January/February: Continue/finish research. Golden Sower club on check out days. Main idea lesson using Lightbox books.
March: Prepare for Bill Harley visit. Writing a thank you note. Plagiarism lesson, using BrainPop.
April/May: Common Sense Media, Creator's Rights. Additional lessons on Online Resources from BrainPop. Caldecott winner, Finding Winnie, the True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear, historical fiction, primary sources.
Mary, you will be missed! Enjoy your retirement!
Activity Summary for Location with Comparison to Previous Year Indian Hill
Courtesy Notice Counts Excluded
08/11/2015 - 05/11/2016
08/11/2014 - 05/11/2015
Our overall circulation is down this year by around 3.5%. I think this is probably due to the fact that we did not have any check outs in May since we packed all of our books on May 9. I am not sure why renewal is down 14%. That is something we will have to look at next year, if the trend continues.
This year we continued our author and Golden Sower program. We had around 70 participants from grades 4, 5, and 6, which is about the same as we had last year. Because our numbers were large we kept the club meetings on check out days. This year we added a "read aloud" program for students who did not participate in the "read-on-your-own" club. We chose Rump, The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin for our read-aloud. We invited students to listen if they wanted to. We did not read the entire book, but we got started. Then we used Scholastic money to purchase a copy of the book for those who listened. This was a great way to involve students who wanted to sign up for the club, but lacked the independent reading skills to read on their own.
Our author, Bill Harley, who wrote Charlie Bumper vs Teacher of the Year spoke with grades 4, 5, and 6. He was fantastic and a real success with our students. They loved his storytelling, his music, and his sense of humor. After presenting to all of the classes, teachers brought their students back to the library for Mr. Harley to autograph their copy of the book. He spoke to every one of them.
Read aloud 6th grade Rump group. Independent 6th grade group.
This year we also started a Staff Book Club. Our first book was Snicker of Magic.
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).