Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Project Calculator
Calculate the step by step timeline for completing a research paper or project.
Historic Newspapers--Library of Congress
Welcome to Chronicling America, enhancing access to America's historic newspapers. This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
American Memory Project--Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
History Channel Information by Topic
Choose from a VERY large group of topics. Provides brief descriptions and links to related articles.
Collection of Links--US History 1890-1930
Over 500 links to information about the Emergence of Modern America.
Library of Congress 1900-1929
Progressive Era to New Era
Immigration and Ethnic Heritage
Industrialization, Urbanization and Labor
Collection of Links--US History 1929-1945
Over 450 links to information on the Great Depression and WWII.
Collection of Resources for Educational Excellence
Features photos, videos, artifacts, and articles on a wide variety of US history topics.
US Gov't Department of Defense
There is information from the secretary of defense, military photographers, Department of Defense information, links to each branch of the military’s websites, news updates, a link to the Pentagon tv channel, and photo archives. There are also ways to subscribe to their RSS feed, podcasts, and widget.
The American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project contains the most comprehensive collection of resources pertaining to the study of the President of the United States.
The Great Depression: An Eye Witness History
Compiles a history of the Great Depression, including the events that led up to it and the New Deal that followed, with chronologies, personal narratives, and documents.
Black Tuesday: A Prelude to the Great Depression
Describes the events leading to the October 29, 1929, stock market crash resulting in a financial loss to thousands of investors and ushering in the Great Depression.
An Album of the Great Depression
Discusses the causes, events, and effects of the Great Depression and highlights the programs designed to alleviate it.
Contains excerpts from memoirs, diaries, letters, newspapers, speeches, advertisements, and other primary sources that provide eyewitness reports on the America's role in World War II, and features introductory essays, chronologies, period illustrations and photographs, and brief biographies of key individuals.
Students will be able to compare perspectives on events in US History through examination of a ficiton or non-fiction book and research of the time period. For first semester students will examine events from 1900-1945 (end of WWII).
Examples of Strong/Weak Work
Important Vocabulary Terms
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).