Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Project Calculator
Calculate the step by step timeline for completing a research paper or project.
Historic Newspapers--Library of Congress
Welcome to Chronicling America, enhancing access to America's historic newspapers. This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
American Memory Project--Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Library of Congress 1900-1929
Progressive Era to New Era
Immigration and Ethnic Heritage
Industrialization, Urbanization and Labor
Collection of Resources for Educational Excellence
Features photos, videos, artifacts, and articles on a wide variety of US history topics.
US Gov't Department of Defense
There is information from the secretary of defense, military photographers, Department of Defense information, links to each branch of the military’s websites, news updates, a link to the Pentagon tv channel, and photo archives. There are also ways to subscribe to their RSS feed, podcasts, and widget.
The American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project contains the most comprehensive collection of resources pertaining to the study of the President of the United States.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Explore US History through documents, photos, and records.
US Historical Documents
This site offers an extensive directory of historical documents from pre-colonial days to the present. Many presidential inaugural addresses are included, as are some songs, poems, letters, and more.
Look for primary sources under the resources heading.
National Museum of American History
Search for artifacts and archival records in the collections of the National Museum of
1. Research a specific event in US History between 1900 and the start of World War II (choose from the list provided or seek approval for another)
2. Find 3 primary source documents regarding your event using resources provided through libguides.ops.org/burkehighschool
3. Write a 1 page newspaper article detailing the specific facts of your event and how they relate to the world today.
Examples of Strong/Weak Work
Important Vocabulary Terms
What is a primary source?
Primary sources of information are those that provide first-hand accounts of the events, practices, or conditions you are researching. In general, these are documents that were created by the witnesses or first recorders of these events at about the time they occurred, and include diaries, letters, reports, photographs, creative works, financial records, memos, and newspaper articles (to name just a few types).
Primary sources also include first-hand accounts that were documented later, such as autobiographies, memoirs, and oral histories. However, the most useful primary sources are usually considered to be those that were created closest to the time period you’re researching.
(From the University of Illinois Library)
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).