Skip to Main Content

Bluestem Library: 7th Grade Social Studies Project

7th Grade Social Studies Project

Welcome to your Social Studies Research Project!

Before you begin, make sure you have the following:

 

  • The packet your teacher gave you
  • A pencil
  • headphones
  •  

  •  

 

 

Start by watching this 1st video!!!

Expectations in the Library while Working on Your Research Projects

  1. Do NOT sit next to people that will stop you from getting your work down-- this is YOUR grade.
  2. Your headphones should be on at ALL TIMES - only take them off if you need to ask a question.
  3. If you are confused or don't understand something - replay the video at least 2 times BEFORE asking for help.
  4. Troubleshoot your own problems BEFORE you ask for help.  You are competent and will be able to solve most problems.

Email Mrs. Mulder if you have any questions or technical difficulties.

Michele.mulder@ops.org

#1 KWL Chart Page

The KWL Chart page

 

 

If you don't know how to do this step, go back and watch the first video.

      

 

Do NOT go on unless you have completed this entire page. 

if you need ideas, go ahead and Google Russia.

Stop Sign

#2 Noodletools

Before you begin this portion of the instructions, open CLEVER.

 

When logging into Clever, type in Omaha and then choose "Omaha Virtual Middle School"

 

In Noodletools, name your project: Russia_ Your Name

After watching Video #3:

  1. Login to Noodletools
  2. Create your "Russia _ Your full name" Project

Do not go on unless you have logged in and created your project in Noodletools

Stop Sign

#3 EncyclopediaBritannica

Before you begin this portion of the instructions, open the following links FROM CLEVER:

Clever Application Icon

  • Noodletools   - only if you don't already have this open.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica

Make sure you are on the Encyclopedia Britannica Page!!

 

 

IF you are at school and it says you need a password, turn on your wifi and RETRY from Clever.  

IF that doesn't work, ask for the passwords from your teacher or the librarian.

IF you are working from home, you will need a password to access the Encyclopedia Britannica database. 

Email Mrs.Mulder  Michele.mulder@ops.org to get the home passwords for Encyclopedia Britannica.

 

DO NStop SignOT GO ON UNTIL YOU HAVE COMPETED ALL OF YOUR NOTES ON THE ENCYCLOPEDIA BRITANNICA PAGE.

 

 

#4 Encyclopedia Britannica Noodletools Citation

DON'T CLOSE ENCYCLOPEDIA BRITANNICA YET!

Stop SignDo not go on until you have copied the Encyclopedia Britannica citation into Noodletools.

#5 Take Notes from CIA World Factbook

Before you begin this portion of the instructions, open the following links:

Stop SignDo not go on until you have completed your Country Information Chart for CIA World Factbook.

#6 CIA World Factbook Citation

Number 7Before you begin watching this portion of instructions, open ALL of the following links:

Stop SignDo not go on until you have created your citation for CIA World Factbook in Noodletools.

#8 Completing your stay or go sheet

8

Stop SignDo not go on until you have finished the 4 sentences (2 about staying, 2 about leaving) 

#9 Staying or Going Pages

The time has come for you to make a choice...

Are you staying in Russia OR are you leaving Russia?

9

Stop SignStop-- Do NOT go on until you have finished ONE of the Country Decision pages.

#9 Final Product

The Final Part of Your Project

Look at the choices below and pick 1 to create using your research.

Choice #2- Creating a PowerPoint

Add your research to one of these templates to complete your PowerPoint

Choosing to Leave Russia PowerPoint Template

Choosing to Stay in Russia PowerPoint Template

Choice #3 - Creating a Poster

This can be done either digitally using Canva or on poster paper.  Either way it should look like a poster that you would see at an airport about another country. 

Requirements:

  • It should be showing either why you're staying or why you are leaving.
  • It must include at least 10 of the facts you collected from your research.
  • Make sure you have the name of the country.
  • Must be done neatly in color.

Choice #4 - Brochure

This can be done either digitally using Canva or on printer paper.  Either way it should look like a brochure that you would see at a hotel about another country. 

Requirements:

  • It should be showing either why you're staying or why you are leaving.
  • It must include at least 10 of the facts you collected from your research.
  • Make sure you have the name of the country.
  • Must be done neatly in color.

 

How You Will Be Graded!

Your Final Grade is Based Upon this Rubric:

 

Advanced

Score 4.0

No major errors or omissions regarding 2.0, 3.0, and 4.0 tasks.
  • Logical and persuasive answer to Question 3 of the Decision Information Chart
  • Sources are cited 
  • Decision Chart and Country Information Chart/Research goes beyond the information suggested (Country Information Chart) showing STUDENT INTERESTS that relate to the project.

 

Score 3.5

2.0 AND 3.0 tasks complete well. Some success at 4.0 tasks

Proficient

Score 3.0

No major errors or omissions regarding 2.0 and 3.0 tasks.
  • Statistical data, culture and location used to answer Question 2 of the Decision Information Chart
  • Sources are listed using appropriate MLA format.

 

Score 2.5

2.0 task completed well. Some success at 3.0 tasks

Basic

Score 2.0

No major errors or omissions regarding 2.0 tasks.
  • Statistical data, culture and location used accurately  to answer Question 1 of the Decision Information Chart.
  • Country Information Chart/Research and Decision Chart completed
  • Sources are listed, but simple list of websites urls/print sources.

 

Score 1.5

1.0 task completed well.  Some success at 2.0 tasks.

Below Basic Score 1.0

 
  • Country Information Chart – Turned in/Not fully completed
  • Decision Chart – Turned in/Not fully completed
  • Inaccurate use of statistics

Failing    Score 0

 

Insufficient evidence of learning

 

 

*It is important to use statistical data that provides persuasive reasons for staying or leaving.

As an example for statistical data: 

2-The average life expectancy in ________ is 52 years old and I want to live longer.

4-The average life expectancy in _______ is 52 years old.  There are several reasons for this, including __________, ____________, and ___________.  (Adding why those three reasons could cause the low life expectancy.)

Citation example: (Culturegrams and NationMaster.com have a built-in citation generator) or use Noodle Tools

"Central an Republic." CultureGrams Online Edition. ProQuest, 2016. Web. 10 June 2016.

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).