Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Start here: Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Points of View Reference Center
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.
Gale Global Issues In Context
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues in Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Use EBSCOhost to find more resources about your topic. For best results, click on EBSCOhost Web, then select TOPICsearch, MAS Complete, MasterFILE Complete. Remember to limit your results to Full Text only.
Or, try ProCon.org. ProCon's mission is to promote "critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."
More Central High Databases
Click here to get to additional online resources.
Social Justice Topics
If you are looking for these issues, then search the BOLDED search terms in Gale for success! Gale has issues pages created for those topics.
- Immigrant rights / immigration policy > search Emigration/Immigration
- Migrant workers
- Women’s rights / gender inequality > search Women's Rights
- Gay rights... are you looking for Same-Sex Marriage or Gay Parents or Gays in the Military?
- Hunger > search Food Insecurity
- Unemployment / lack of jobs > search Unemployment
- Access to health care > search Medical Care
- The income gap / low social mobility
- The effects of globalization > search Globalization
- Quality of public education > search Education
- The DREAM Act
- Defense of Marriage Act /NC Amendment > search Same-Sex Marriage
- Voter ID laws
- Child welfare / the foster care system > search Child Welfare
Why should I write an annotated bibliography? To learn about your topic: Writing an annotated bibliography is excellent preparation for a research project. Just collecting sources for a bibliography is useful, but when you have to write annotations for each source, you're forced to read each source more carefully. You begin to read more critically instead of just collecting information. At the professional level, annotated bibliographies allow you to see what has been done in the literature and where your own research or scholarship can fit. To help you formulate a thesis: Every good research paper is an argument. The purpose of research is to state and support a thesis. So a very important part of research is developing a thesis that is debatable, interesting, and current. Writing an annotated bibliography can help you gain a good perspective on what is being said about your topic. By reading and responding to a variety of sources on a topic, you'll start to see what the issues are, what people are arguing about, and you'll then be able to develop your own point of view.
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).