Skip to Main Content

Big 6+ SS Projects: 9th Grade RSP

Lesson Overview

Students will:

Identify key events and themes and determine their significance through creation of a 20th Century Digital Archive and Time Capsule.

Analyze events from each unit to determine their significance; summarize and evaluate events using print and online sources; and identify and justify the specific artifacts they feel were most significant from each decade in relation to an overall theme for the unit.

Write a written summary for each artifact chosen to explain why they chose those specific items for the time capsule.

This RSP works best when artifacts and information are found at the end of each unit instead of at the end of the semester.  If done at the end of each unit, the librarian can introduce resources at the end of the first unit and provide a refresher at the end of the second unit.  For the third and fourth, the librarian can provide support as needed. 

REMINDERS:

This is a collaborative lesson taught by both the classroom teacher and the school librarian. Get in contact with your school librarian early to discuss scheduling and teaching responsibilities.

This lesson plan is a guideline. If you need to make minor adjustments or changes to best suit the needs of your students or the resources in your building, please do so. If you have questions about the curricular requirements, please contact contact Lindsay Behne -  Secondary Social Studies Teaching & Learning Consultant at (531) 299-6704 or lindsay.behne@ops.org.

At the completion of this lesson, you will need to send two student examples each of a level 2, 3, and 4 project to the person designated by Ms. Behne.  This can be electronically or as a hard copy.

Task Definition (1)

Teacher will assist students with filling out the RSP flowchart to determine overall themes for the decades studied in class individually.  Then, as a class brainstorming activity, students will share their ideas to create a large list of possible themes for each unit studied.  From this large list, students will select a theme(s) of interest to them as the focus of their inquiry project for each unit.

Teacher will introduce the requirements for the project.  (See Synthesis & Sharing)

Formative Assessment: Verify all information is recorded on student handouts (can be a visual check or graded assessment)

Info Seeking/Location & Access (2/3)

With direct instruction from the school librarian (with support from the classroom teacher) on search strategies and recommended resources (possibly only during unit 1), students will locate a minimum of two sources of information about the item chosen to represent the theme for each unit.

  • Who wrote or is credited for the item?
  • How was it used/what was the purpose?
  • Where was the item discovered (originally) or where did it appear?
  • When was the item discovered or when did it appear?
  • How is the specific item significant enough to be the only representation of the time period?
  • How does it relate to the overall theme of the unit?

Formative Assessment:  Consistent and frequent verbal and visual checks with student to assess if they are able to access quality resources.

Resources

Note:  In addition to the database and website resources listed below, students may also use class notes and their textbook to locate information and items for their chosen themes. 

Database Resources

Your librarian will use your school's direct links to the following district databases when working with students:

Gale Student Resources in Context

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Biography Reference Bank (NebraskAccess)

Website Resources

Use of Information (4)

Teacher will guide students through transferring information into a notes organizer. (Digital Archive/Time Capsule organizer is included.  One will be needed for each unit/item)

With direct instruction and support from the school librarian, students will create citations for their sources.  Recommendation to use district subscription to Noodle Tools. 

Formative Assessment:  Visual checks for completion.  And/or, individual conferencing with students to determine if ready to move on to synthesis and sharing.

Noodle Tools

Noodletools provides a format for creating research papers.  It provides an area for notetaking, citation creation, and paper formation.

Guides for using Noodle Tools

This 20 minute video gives an overview on how to use NoodleTools.

This video shows how to create a new project.

This video shows how to check the format of your citation.

This video shows how to add a preformatted citation from a database or website.

Synthesis & Sharing (5)

Teacher will review the requirements for the final product and assist students as necessary.

  • Students will write a 3-4 sentence introductory statement at the beginning of each entry in the digital archive/time capsule explaining why they chose the theme for that unit. 
  • For each item, students will write a 2-3 paragraph statement about how the item is a representation of the time period chosen and overall theme as well as why the student chose this particular item as the one thing they would share with future generations. 
  • As an extension, students could include a final explanation about how the themes/items chosen for each unit are similar and/or different from each other.
  • Visual presentation of the items selected can be in a variety of formats (PowerPoint, Sway, Office Mix, Video, Scrapbook, etc.)  Recommendation that students choose the format for this piece.

Formative Assessment: Rough draft feedback.

Summative Assessment: Use provided rubric to grade final product.

Self-Evaluation (6)

Teacher will guide students as they complete the self-evaluation form containing teacher selected items from the form included below.

The self-evaluation can be as brief (one question) or as long as the teacher deems necessary.  This can be a graded or non-graded activity.         

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).