Skip to Main Content

Walnut Hill LibGuide Home: 6th Grade

Welcome to your home for all Walnut Hill resources!

6th Grade

 

 

eBooks

Go to Sora. Sign in for students
Username: student ID number      
Password: birthdate MMDDYY

 Library class code = RYM3828
 

Look at this EPIC badge!
Keep reading!!

Free videos professionally recorded by actors and actresses.  Provided by the SAG Foundation.
 

We picture a world where all children have access to an abundance of books that celebrate their languages and cultures and cultivate a life-long love of reading.
 

 

Walnut Hill Library Resources

Many of our resources require passwords that are unique to each school site. Go to your school web page, and click on "library."  Please email erin.solheim@ops.org if you need additional assistance.

 

Other Resources

NebraskAccess
Password required for at-home use.
 

NebraskAccess offers free 24/7 access for Nebraska residents to premium databases containing thousands of full text popular magazine and journal articles; primary source documents; and research resources for K-12 students.

Omaha Public Library

Search the public library's online catalog.

Click here to get a public library card.

Explora (Primary)

 

 

Explora is a database with research articles designed for a variety of students and levels. 

Also includes an Educator’s Edition which offers lesson plans, support materials, and professional development resources.

Folett Lightbox

 

Lightbox is a multimedia educational space that encourages students to see learning in a whole new light. Lightbox incorporates videos, Google Maps, worksheets, audio, quizzes, and other exciting interactive features.

 

Made with Padlet

Supplemental resources for all students during school closures

Please note:  These resources are supplemental to what is provided for by the school each week, not required.  Please ask if there are questions in regards to any of these links.

 

 

 

 

 

Content Area Links

 

Animal Adaptations

Animal Adaptations
Pokemon style Cards
Read-Write-Think link:

Need photos?

Check out
Photos for Class!

How to create your trading cards: click here to see the video in full screen

How to save your project: click here to see the 2nd video in full screen

 

 

 

 

Check out
Photos for Class!

Copyright-free photos

are also found
on Wikimedia Commons.

 

WRITING:  LISTENING AND SPEAKING:
  • Structured Writing Support
    • YouTube videos provide targeted information on topics and subtopics that include the writing process, grammar usage, punctuation, capitalization, sentence structure and style, writing modes and genres.  Free.
    • Each week playwrights are offering free lessons on playwriting.
    • NoRedInk offers interactive tutorials to teach writing and grammar concepts.  Free.

RESOURCES:
  • TED Talks offer short speeches and presentations by a variety of speakers on multiple topics.  Free.
  • TEDx Talks focus on topics of a more global/international nature.  Free.

RESOURCES:

 

 

 

Click Sign up to create a free parent account and have your child begin with 1st Grade Measurement, Data, & Geometry

Click Sign up for a free account. It is important to focus on thinking strategies instead of speed when helping students develop fluency

Zoos

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ancient Mayans

In this video, students will learn about the civilization that inhabited the Yucatan peninsula in Central America.

This site provides Maya facts and information about the people and their accomplishments to their Empire.

This site looks at Maya cities, beliefs, arts/crafts, hunting/fishing, pyramids, writing, and the end of the Maya civilization.

This resource provides games and activities for students learning about life for the Mayans.

This video clip from PBS’ Civilizations presents the initial encounter between the Aztecs and Hernan Cortez’s Spanish Army.

This eBook gives an introduction to the Aztec people and their traditional ways of life. Use classroom code or create a free account.

This eBook explores the history of some of the fierce warriors, the tools and tactics they used in battle, and what ultimately led to their downfall. Use classroom code or create a free account.

This website provides students the opportunity to take a virtual field trip to some of the Aztec ruins.

UN Global Goals Nearpod Lesson

PE Go Noodle

 

 

Art

Tate Museum -

  • Play free games and quizzes
  • Find art activities
  • Explore homework help
  • Share your art with Tate Kids

National Gallery of Art - 

  • NGAkids interactives offers an entertaining and informative introduction to art and art history   
  • Featuring a variety of art-making tools that encourage exploration and creativity, these computer-based activities are suitable for all ages

Smithsonian Learning Lab - 

  • Smithsonian Learning Lab puts the treasures of the world's largest museum, education, and research complex within reach
  • The Lab is a free, interactive platform for discovering millions of authentic digital resources, creating content with online tools, and sharing in the Smithsonian's expansive community of knowledge and learning

Met Kids- 

  • Explore The Met
  • Watch behind-the-scenes videos
  • Travel through more than 5,000 years of art
  • Discover fun facts about works of art
  • Try out creative projects for at home or in the galleries

Technology Skills

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).