Skip to main content

Dundee Library Annual Report: 2013-14

Collection Development

We placed an order with Follett focusing on our 500-600's collection as well as some new titles. This order included plenty of books for the 6th grade "Ancient History" project they will begin working on soon. This order also includes new informational text for younger readers. *Update: as of May, the 6th graders have been assigned a different year-end project. In any case, should they return to this project, we will have the resources they need.

The informational text for younger readers are a hit, students love the opportunity to check out books on “real” topics that they can read independently.

I also placed an order with some bilingual books. I can see the need in our library is changing, with our student population, so I wanted to reflect those needs. Students seem to be very interested in these books, even check them out to learn the language, but I want to do more for these students. Many of these books are in Spanish, I would like to add books in other languages as well.

Circulation/Fines Strategies

Goal: To increase the number of books students can check out while at the same time teaching them to be a responsible library user with returning their books on time so they can enjoy more!

Goal: I try to remind students to bring their books back on time so that they may enjoy other books. In the library we display the new books as they walk in to increase interest. 

Goal: To have the kindergarteners check out earlier in the year and get into nonfiction books sooner.

Unfortunately, as I was looking at the circulation data and compared it to last year, I found that overall numbers have decreased by 1,000 check outs. I plan to counter this next year by doing more book talks on books other than Golden Sowers. (Every Golden Sower book I book talked had a long wait list!) My plan is to create a shelf or a book talk corner to create interest in other titles. I want those circulation numbers to go up!

As far as fines go, I tried to work with the students and teachers this year to create accountability for students' books, but also leave some room for students that have situations beyond their control. I sent out several reminders and started talking with the students at the beginning of the year about being a responsible library user. When the end of the year came around, I made sure I talked with each class and answered any questions about over due books. The last thing I wanted was a student upset because they couldn't pay for a book! So we got creative. We "traded" some books, we had some students "work off" their fines, and I even had one student come in and help me shelve and organize the 920's section. She found a new appreciation for all that librarians do. Fortunately, many of the students did pay their fines, and it seems like many have learned the meaning of responsiblity too.

This year, the kindergarten classes were able to check out as of the week of September 30, this was almost a month earlier than last year. They were also encouraged to go check out from the nonfiction section after Thanksgiving break. We discussed the difference between fiction and nonfiction books, and how to make good choices based on our wants and needs. Circulation for kindergarten increased.

Library Goals

To increase participate in the Golden Sower program through book talks and "enrichment" activities with the intermediate grades.

Update: As of 12.5.13 we have had book talks for 7 of the 10 Intermendiate nominees. These book talks have created a long waiting list for all of the titles! The students are being very patient while others are enjoying the books. The students have created over 62 projects for the Golden Sower program (most are on display in the library). Golden Sowers are all the buzz at Dundee!

Update: 4.17.14  As of now there are over 20  intermediate students that have completed their five projects and are invited to the Golden Sower Celebration. Altogether, there have been 130 projects turned in! These projects include creating a new song, new book covers, letters to the authors, yearbooks, and so much more! The circulation for these books have been amazing. There was always a long wait list for them. In the last month, the books have been in the library a bit more, but when students see them on the shelves, they are immediately checked out. Although I didn’t have as many students complete the required number of projects as I wanted, I know these books were read by many!

Update: 5.21.14 The final number of participants in our Golden Sower program was 23. Next year I am hoping to have over 30! The celebration was a fun time filled with book discussions, voting, and of course, ice cream. We had a blast!

            

To increase collaboration with teachers in the building and enhance the lessons taught in the classroom with lessons I can teach in the library and computer lab. To create a team with the teachers to help our students succeed.

I worked with a 5th grade teacher to create a multi media project using the online tool Glogster. I met with her a few times to go over their Social Studies curriculum and created a project that went along with their pacing guide. While students were learning about historical figures of the American Revolution in their class, we were researching them and creating a Historical Biography Glog in library. I often would email or talk with the 5th grade teacher to ensure that we are covering the same ideas as they are in class. 

 

Resources

To use Pebble Go when researching endangered animals with the first grade, while promoting the database to the teachers in grades K-2.

Use Culturegrams to create an "All Around the World" project with the 5th graders.

*After talking with the 5th grade teachers, we determined the need for the students would be to tie a project with their Social Studies curriculum "Amerian History" by researching a historical figure in American History and creating a Glog. This multimedia project includes research, poetry writing, digital skills, and note taking process.

The 2nd grade was able to complete an animal research project using Pebblego and the built in graphic organizers. They took several days in class to complete. Although we did not get a chance to complete a project on an “endangered” animal, students were able to explore an animal of their choice and create a final project. They had to write a persuasive essay on if their animal would make a good pet or not, and why! Some of the answers were quite hilarious.

I did send an email out to teachers about the database Pebblego. I’m not sure how much they were able to use it, but I found it to be very helpful when planning curricular activities.

The fifth graders used the OPS databases (mostly Britannica) when completing their research for their Historical Biography glog. What was really nice is that students could change the level of their search from elementary to middle school depending on their reading level. All students were able to use the same database and were able to read it independently! 

Contact

Carly Milleson's picture
Carly Milleson
Contact:
310 N 51 St
Omaha, NE 68132
402-554-8424
Website

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).