Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Liberty Annual Report 2013-14: 2014-2015

Collection Development

Focus on Fiction and Story Collection (short stories).

Our story collection's age is under 15 years old with the exception of about 17 titles that represent classics that support the curriculum. Our patrons have an affinity for the macabre and mysterious.  This section of the collection is being developed with high interest, easy, "scary" books.

The overall fiction section is being weeded of aged titles (with the exception of award winners and classic titles).  Purchases for this section wil be devoted to popular, high interest, titles,and award winners, at the 2 - 3 grade reading levels. 

We have been identifying "easy" chapter books in our fiction section with a red dot-label affixed to the spines. Patrons are directed to these labels for selecting chapter books. About half of the collection, thus far,  has been marked.

 

 

 

Circulation/Fines Strategies

Fines will not be imposed on our patrons.  However, students will be assessed for damaged or lost books.

The number of books students can check out, weekly,  will increase as follows:

K - 1 book

1st - 2 books

2nd -  3 books

3rd - 6th - 5 books

Students wishing to check out play-away listening devices have to first receive signed permission from their parents. A form outlining the price of the devices and the parents' agreement to assume responsibility if lost or damaged was provided at the beginning of the year.  The signed forms remained on file throughout the school year.

Library Goals

Add your 5 personal goals for you/your library this year.

 

  • More collaboration with grade level teachers to better align library lessons with classroom projects and learning targets. Make provisions to attend grade level meetings once per term.
  • Restructure the library website to better align with the school and district web pages.
  • Continue to develop a collection that grows in new directions to include a current science section not more than 10 years old and easy reading fiction targeted for a boy’s audience.
  • More intermediate book talks.
  • Long-term studies/projects with 21st century learning targets encompassing all medium and broader presentation formats to include more 2.0 tools.
  • Develop more independent patrons through the use of the online card catalog, lessons on bookshelf locations, and reading spine labels.

 

 

Submitted by:  Gail Walker

Instructional Best Practices

The 3 strategies you picked from the Academic Achievement Plan spiral bound book.

  1. Engagement - We used "round table"and "rally coach" for generating responses and solving problems or making contributions to a project.
  2. Big 6 Inquiry - On each research project and activity the teacher modeled how to follow the Big 6 steps in the inquiry process. A laminated poster listing all steps was placed t each student grouping for ongoing referencing.
  3. Gradual Release of Instruction and Lesson Planning  -All lessons were presented following the steps in the gradual release instructional model.

Resources

The district- provided databases have been  most valuable as a research tool as well as a lesson reinforcer.  The databases have been used successfully with grades 1 – 6. Culture Grams, PebbleGo and World Book Kids provide a wealth of information and easy navigation for all grade levels.  The 360 site has an expansive collection of previewed videos on all topics and subjects aligned with the curriculum.

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).