Skip to main content

McMillan Library Annual Report: 2013-2014

McMillan Annual Report authored by Kelly Arbuckle.

Collection Development

The remodeling of the library including the movement of the collection made this a prime opportunity to evaluate how the library collection was being utilized and how it should be organized to encourage use.  Collection development focused on withdrawing non-fiction items that were over 8 years old.  With also withdrew non-fiction items that had not been utilized in over two years, did not meet curriculum needs, or that were in poor condition.  In the fiction area we withdrew items that had not been utilized in over two years or that were in poor condition.  The withdrawal of these items made room for short stories and relevant reference materials to be moved into the general collection and for an additional section of graphic novels to be added. 

Another part of our collection development was to move professional literature to the district collection or to the McMillan professional development room.  The movement of these items will allow for greater access by the staff.  We also disassembled the literature group sets that had not been utilized and began using them as part of sustained silent reading during advisement block.

In total 2,573 items were withdrawn from McMillan's collection.

For the 2014/ 2015 school year our collection development will focus on the addition of eBooks, material to support project based learning, and high interest literature.

Circulation/Fines Strategies

Though our student population is down our circulation has increased by 5.38%.  I believe there are several factors that led to this increase which include, but are not limited to updated checkout policy, collaboration with staff, collection development, and book promotions.

I worked with students to encourage on time return of materials and elimination of fines through the return of materials, reading off fines, and donation of materials.  It is my goal to create responsible library users without making them fear checking out items.

To continue literacy promotion next year I will continue collaboration efforts with staff, do book promotions, add book selection lessons, and work with students to help them share the books they like.

2013/2014 Library Goals

  • Collaborate with staff in the development of virtual curriculum to utilize the distance learning cart.  I would like to focus on Science and Social Studies to begin with. 

We were able to participate in a Google+ Hangout.  The students were respective, curious, and asked excellent questions.  I have joined several collaborative classroom groups to gain more knowledge and background in conducting virtual field trips and experiences. I signed up for virtual field trips through the distance education system, but was not sent the needed access codes.  I will continue to work on integration these experiences into the general curriculum and classroom.

  • Use the new tab feature on the Card Catalogue to highlight top reviewed books to increase circulation.

I did not begin using the new features on the card catalogue to highlight reviewed books.  I determined we will actually want tabs for genres and series before reviewed books.  I have made arrangements to work with Library Services to complete this goal before August 2014

  • To develop a cross curricular research project that culminates with students creating an infographic display.

Though we did not create infographics we used a new online tool, Smores, to create online fliers about research topics.  These online fliers allowed students to research and summarize their content discoveries.  The research topics included Nebraska destinations and historical events.

  • Update checkout policy to allow students more access to books.

Policy was updated to allow students to checkout up to 10 books for 3 weeks.  Circulation did increase.  We will continue the new policy and work with staff to encourage students to have reading material with them as part of their "If done" activity choices.

  • Work with administrative team and building staff to write curriculum and grants that enhance McMillan's technology and program.

To date I have submitted 5 grants and have been awarded 3.  I will continue to collaborate with administrators and staff.  I would like to add a tablet cart to the library in order to allow integration into content areas while freeing up a laptop cart to be utilized in another content area.  I would also like to update the collaborative area's furniture and add an updated projection system to the second classroom to offer a greater variety of opportunities.  I will also be working with community groups to enhance after school activities to include Maker Space, Anime. and Service Learning.

  • Immerse myself in tablet technology to become even more accessible to staff and students.

I did a great deal of work with tablets, learning management systems, and other online tools.  This has given me the tools to assist staff and students with 21st century skills.  I plan to continue to work with technology professionals inside and outside the district to create curriculum, tools, and opportunities that challenge and enhance students and staff educational experiences.  It is my goal to make technology a seamlessly integrated part of the classroom environment.

  • Create a book blog/ chat on Libguide for staff and students to encourage reading.

Though a blog was not established we did begin to utilize a new online tool "Awesome Box" that will allow students and staff to recommend books quickly and easily, as well as, find recommended books easily.  The "Awesome Box" is attached to McMillan's Twitter account allowing active sharing of books.

  • Create a section for each content area on Libguides with recommended books.

The sections were created, but a connection to the card catalogue still need to be added.  However, instead of connecting the card catalogue I worked with the staff to provide book tubs containing content topics for students to read during units.  This increased circulation by staff, provided relevant materials, and saved the staff time.

  • Goals for 2014/ 2015 include collaboration with staff to support McMillan's adoption of Project Based Learning.  Continue work on grants and library remodel.  Work towards seamless integration of social media, technology, and online tools into daily school activities.

 

2013/2014 Library Highlights

  • Circulation increased
  • I presented at the American Association of School Librarians conference.
  • Worked with architecture students to design a flex space library to meet student, staff, and community needs.
  • Received 3 grants allowing the purchase of new furniture, updated read aloud books, and supplies for Maker Space activities.
  • Worked with new online tools including S'more, Google+ Communities, Google+ Hangout, Zoom, ScreenCast-O-Matic, and PowToon.
  • Began lbrary remodel.
  • Worked on McMillan's Digital image and Social Media presences.

Resources

This year besides working with Library Services staff to develop McMillan's Library Program I worked with professors at the University of Nebraska at Lincoln to develop my technology skills and knowledge.  I continued reading professional journals, blogs, and joined online educational communities.

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).