Welcome to your Social Studies Research Project!
Before you begin, make sure you have the following:
Start by watching this 1st video!!!
Email Mrs. Mulder if you have any questions or technical difficulties.
Michele.mulder@ops.org
After watching Video #3:
Before you begin this portion of the instructions, open the following links FROM CLEVER:
Make sure you are on the Encyclopedia Britannica Page!!
IF you are at school and it says you need a password, turn on your wifi and RETRY from Clever.
IF that doesn't work, ask for the passwords from your teacher or the librarian.
IF you are working from home, you will need a password to access the Encyclopedia Britannica database.
Email Mrs.Mulder Michele.mulder@ops.org to get the home passwords for Encyclopedia Britannica.
OT GO ON UNTIL YOU HAVE COMPETED ALL OF YOUR NOTES ON THE ENCYCLOPEDIA BRITANNICA PAGE.
EDUCATION IS NOW LOCATED IN LEVEL 3 UNDER GOVERNMENT & SOCIETY
DON'T CLOSE ENCYCLOPEDIA BRITANNICA YET!Do not go on until you have copied the Encyclopedia Britannica citation into Noodletools.
Before you begin this portion of the instructions, open the following links:
Do not go on until you have completed your Country Information Chart for CIA World Factbook.
Before you begin watching this portion of instructions, open ALL of the following links:
Do not go on until you have created your citation for CIA World Factbook in Noodletools.
Do not go on until you have finished the 4 sentences (2 about staying, 2 about leaving)
Stop-- Do NOT go on until you have finished ONE of the Country Decision pages.
Look at the choices below and pick 1 to create using your research.
This document shows exactly how you need to arrange your information on your Sway.
After you look over this page, watch the video below on how to create your Sway.
Add your research to one of these templates to complete your PowerPoint
This can be done either digitally using Canva or on poster paper. Either way it should look like a poster that you would see at an airport about another country.
Requirements:
This can be done either digitally using Canva or on printer paper. Either way it should look like a brochure that you would see at a hotel about another country.
Requirements:
Staying or Leaving?
Research Paper Guidelines
Paragraph 1, Introduction
Identify and describe Russia
Weak or strong government? How do you know?
Rights of citizens
Weak or strong economy? How do you know?
High or low standard of living? How do you know?
Paragraph 2
Identify and describe reason #1 you are staying/leaving that country. Use examples from your research and explain why this is important to you.
Paragraph 3
Identify and describe reason #2 you are staying/leaving that country. Use examples from your research and explain why this is important to you.
Paragraph 4
Identify and describe reason #3 you are staying/leaving that country. Use examples from your research and explain why this is important to you.
Paragraph 5, Conclusion
Summarize all the reasons you are staying/leaving Russia
Explain which reason for staying/leaving was most important to you and why.
Here is an example outline you could use:
I. Introduction
A. Briefly introduce the topic of the speech
B. Explain the purpose of the speech
II. Economic Opportunities
A. Discuss the job market and overall economic situation in the country
B. Look at factors like the unemployment rate and the average income
III. Political Climate
A.Look at the country's policies towards issues like human rights, social justice, and the environment.
IV. Quality of Life
A. Discuss the country's quality of life, including factors like healthcare, education, and public safety
B. Consider things like the cost of living, the climate, and the availability of recreational activities.
V. Cultural Fit
A. Examine whether or not you feel comfortable living in the country's culture
B. Look at things like the language, the food, and the social norms.
VI. Conclusion
A. Summarize the main points of the speech
B. Explain your final decision on whether or not to stay in the country.
Your Final Grade is Based Upon this Rubric:
|
Advanced Score 4.0 |
No major errors or omissions regarding 2.0, 3.0, and 4.0 tasks. |
|
|
|
Score 3.5 |
2.0 AND 3.0 tasks complete well. Some success at 4.0 tasks |
|
Proficient Score 3.0 |
No major errors or omissions regarding 2.0 and 3.0 tasks. |
|
|
|
Score 2.5 |
2.0 task completed well. Some success at 3.0 tasks |
|
Basic Score 2.0 |
No major errors or omissions regarding 2.0 tasks. |
|
|
|
Score 1.5 |
1.0 task completed well. Some success at 2.0 tasks. |
|
Below Basic Score 1.0 |
|
|
|
Failing Score 0 |
|
Insufficient evidence of learning
|
*It is important to use statistical data that provides persuasive reasons for staying or leaving.
As an example for statistical data:
2-The average life expectancy in ________ is 52 years old and I want to live longer.
4-The average life expectancy in _______ is 52 years old. There are several reasons for this, including __________, ____________, and ___________. (Adding why those three reasons could cause the low life expectancy.)
Citation example: (Culturegrams and NationMaster.com have a built-in citation generator) or use Noodle Tools
"Central an Republic." CultureGrams Online Edition. ProQuest, 2016. Web. 10 June 2016.
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).
The KWL Chart page
