Skip to main content

Teacher Resources: Growth Mindset

Class Dojo offers many growth mindset videos. They are available on their website and on YouTube.

The Pep Talk videos from Kid President are a must!

He has also created a new one on problem-solving and engineering skills:

 

And the original presentation by Carol Dweck, who was the researcher who coined "growth mindset."

 

This Famous Failures video is one great way to show students that not everyone gets things perfectly the first time around.

 

This Khan Academy course includes a lesson on growth mindset featuring John Legend:

Mentor Texts and Book that teach Growth Mindset

https://biglifejournal.com/blogs/blog/top-growth-mindset-books-children-adults

 

Why it's good:

- Has additional teaching and parenting resources

- Includes summary of the book plot

- Groups books by age range

- Includes link to purchase on Amazon

https://www.smore.com/wnuxw-a-growth-mindset-booklist

Why it's good:

- Not a long list
- Lists book options all the way to adult readers
- Lists to research articles at the bottom of the page

https://mrswintersbliss.com/the-best-growth-mindset-picture-books/

 

Why it's good:

- Lots of other teacher freebies

- Shows picture of cover AND pictures of what the inside of the book looks like

From "Growth Mindset in Action"
Click here for downloadable file.

Why it's good:

- A long list!

- Includes summaries (no picture)

- Research-backed seller

 

We Are Teachers article:

https://www.weareteachers.com/perfect-read-alouds-for-teaching-growth-mindset/

 

Why it's good:

- Includes pictures

- Includes recommended age ranges for read aloud

- Includes a few teaching/lesson ideas

 

 

Growth Mindset Read-Aloud Books

Click here for the file.

Why it's good:

- Long list

- Grouped by sub-topic: 

  • Persistence and hard work
  • Making mistakes and resilience
  • About the brain
  • Growth vs. Fixed mindset
  • Books for teacher

- Only lists title and author

STEM bins

John Spencer has a lot of resources incorporating STEM.

He also co-wrote resources on LAUNCH: a K-12 design thinking framework.

A teacher-reading recommendation would be the book "LAUNCH:  Using Design Thinking to Boost Creativity and Bring out the Maker in Every Student"

Tips to Start Out:

  • Model problem-solving when introducing challenges for the first time
  • Be explicit in how to use the materials.
  • Use your works carefully.  Don't refer to STEM supplies as "toys" but "tools."
  • Incorporate engineering vocabulary where you can.

Recommended for inspiration:

and many more!

Research that Supports:

 

Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).

Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (402-557-2001).