R.M. MARRS MAGNET CENTER
COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT PLAN
CLIENTELE
Clientele: There are a wide array of students with many diverse backgrounds here at Marrs. There are approximately 100 staff members serving the youth here at R.M. Marrs Magnet Center.
SCOPE
Scope of the collection: - The chief purpose of the school library collection is to support the curriculum of the school while reflecting the cultural, developmental, and learning needs of the students.
ACQUISITIONS
The library media center will acquire materials primarily in English, however, accomodations will be made based on the input of the English as a Second Language instructor and dual language instructors. Spanish language materials will also be purchased which support the needs of our students.
The library media center will acquire materials in the following formats: books, magazines, newspapers, videos and dvds-Electronic resources are available, and additional resources are frequently made available from the Educational Research Center.
GENERAL PRIORITIES
General Priorities:
Ongoing collection development priorities include Golden Sower award books, Newbery and Caldecott award winning books, Pure Belpre, Coretta Scott King award books, content area reading books, and those materials which support the curriculum of Omaha Public Schools fifth through eighth grade.
General Limitations/Exclusions:
Duplicate copies, full length feature films.
SOURCES FOR MATERIALS
Sources for materials other than Budget Program 2241include the Scholastic Book Fair, Birthday Book Club, and monetary donations made by staff, parents, neighbors, and alumni of Marrs.
The collection is developed collaboratively with input from the following groups and/or individuals: grade level teams, specialists, school principal, and students. A variety of selection tools are also used including the Omaha Public Schools Materials Review Committee, publications such as School Library Journal, VOYA, Book Talk, and various other journals.
EVALUATION OF COLLECTION
The collection is continuously evaluated, and resources are deselected based upon established criteria for weeding library collections.
GUIDELINES FOR WEEDING LIBRARY MATERIALS*
All media specialists are encouraged to weed their collections every year in order to maintain materials that are still useful and timely.
Weeding is defined as the practice of discarding excess copies, rarely used books, and materials with incorrect information or no longer relevant to the curriculum or needs of students.
Weeding should not be used as a means for withdrawing materials which are of a controversial nature or needing re-evaluation.
General guidelines for weeding are:
1. Last date of circulation - If the material has not been in general use during the past three to five years (depending on the type of material).
2. Physical condition - If the condition is badly worn or excessively dirty, the item may be weeded, and a decision concerning replacement should be made.
3. Timeliness - This is one of the most frequent criteria: Reference may be to: (a) out-of-date materials, particularly in the sciences and technology. A rule of thumb is to reconsider almost anything more than three to five years of age, (b) materials no longer in demand, or that no longer support the curriculum or current community needs (c) older editions no longer used, and (d) dated textbooks, where they are part of the collection.
4. Reliability - Viewpoints change and must be reflected in the collection.
5. Ephemera - Certain subject areas, from inspirational tomes to how to make a million dollars, go out of fashion and use. This type of fad literature should be weeded, particularly when it is found that a title no longer circulates, is no longer timely, or the information seems unreliable.
6. Duplicates - Where there are duplicates and none seem to be circulating or used, a single copy may be all that is needed. At a later date (one to two years) the single copy should be reconsidered for weeding.
7. Reference works should be given special attention in order that all the above criteria be applicable in all of the special areas. Current information in this areais critical.
*Case, N., (Last update: 8/5/02), "Guidelines for weeding materials", (LRC/Sivia Media Services),
Priority areas for evaluation: During the 2005/2006 school year, the Marrs Media will focus on evaluating and rebuilding both the 500s through 599s (Science) and the 900 through the 999s (Geography and History).
Omaha Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, age, genetic information, citizenship status, or economic status in its programs, activities and employment and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following individual has been designated to address inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Superintendent of Schools, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).
Las Escuelas Públicas de Omaha no discriminan basados en la raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, estado civil, orientación sexual, discapacidad , edad, información genética, estado de ciudadanía, o estado económico, en sus programas, actividades y empleo, y provee acceso equitativo a los “Boy Scouts” y a otros grupos juveniles designados. La siguiente persona ha sido designada para atender estas inquietudes referentes a las pólizas de no discriminación: El Superintendente de las Escuelas, 3215 Cuming Street, Omaha, NE 68131 (531-299-9822).